Florida Cup Matches: North/South Teams Selected
17 Oct 2005
see also: Florida Cup Challenge Matches, Creek Course At Hammock Dunes


TAMPA, Fla. – The Florida State Golf Association (FSGA) has announced the teams representing North and South Florida in the 5th annual Florida Cup Matches. Timuquana Country Club in Jacksonville will host the Matches on November 3-4, 2005.

The North Florida team includes Steve Carter and Andy Purnell, both from Jacksonville, who set a new tournament record winning the Four-Ball Championship with a tournament total of 21-under par 123. Carter was named to represent Florida in this year’s USGA State Team Championship, and last year, he won the Mid-Amateur Championship. In 2003, Purnell won the Match Play Championship earning him the FSGA Player-of-the-Year. Jon Veneziano, the 2005 Mid-Amateur Champion, will also represent North Florida as will two-time Public Links Champion Robert Parker, of Sanford, and the 2005 Mid-Senior Champion David Sutton, from Maitland. Also named to the North team are Senior Champions Joseph Cristillo, from Crystal River, who won in 2000 and 2002, and Bruce Scamehorn, the 2004 Champion. Scamehorn also won the Mid-Amateur in 1993 and will be joined by fellow Mid-Amateur Champion David Anthony, from Jacksonville, who took the 2002 title. The South team also includes Curtis Madson, of Mount Dora, a four-time Senior Four-Ball Champion, and Ken Godwin, from Ocala, the 2004 Mid-Amateur Four-Ball North and Mid-Senior Four-Ball North Champion. Bret Voisin, of Orlando, this year’s Mid-Amateur runner-up and last year’s Four-Ball Champion as well as 2003 Amateur Champion Richard Maddox, from Panama City, will join Peter Dachisen, of Wesley Chapel, Kim Schwencke, of Temple Terrace, Doug Snoap, of Apopka, and Cap Caponi, of Orlando, all playing for the North team.

The South Florida team features Michael Nealy, from Boca Raton, who finished third in this year’s Amateur Championship. The South team also features Match Play semi-finalists Brian Johnson, of Coral Springs, and Lee Booker, from Naples. This year, Johnson won the Mid-Amateur Four-Ball South Championship and placed third in the Four-Ball Championship with partner Scott Brassard. Bob Ethridge, of Plantation, a member of the winning Lago Mar Country Club team who captured the Club Team Championship will also represent South Florida. Mark Leetzow, from Sarasota, the 1995 and 1997 Amateur Champion, 1998 Mid-Amateur Champion and 2002 Match Play Champion, will be competing for the South team as will John Corzilius, of Englewood, who also has four titles. Jim Applegate, of Palm City, the 2001 Senior Champion will be joined by Eddie Bass, of University Park, Lenny Loyd, of Port St. Lucie, Scott Kennedy, from Pompano Beach, RJ Nakashian, of Palm Beach Gardens, Dion Gonsalves, of Pembroke Pines, Jackie Miller, of Naples, James Weick, from Ft. Lauderdale, Troy Wheat, of Boynton Beach, and Scott Turner, of Palm City, all playing for the South team.

Held every two years, the Florida Cup Matches vie the top 16 amateurs from North Florida versus the top 16 amateurs from South Florida. Using a Ryder-Cup format, the winner is determined by the number of points earned throughout the two days. Using the Florida State Golf Association's point standings list, players are invited based on their point standings. In 2003, North Florida won the Matches 20-12 to even the series at 2-2.

On Thursday, November 3, the format is 18 holes of four-ball stroke play in the morning and alternate shot in the afternoon. The final day, Friday, November 4, participants will play 18 holes of singles match play.

To view pairings, tee-times and complete results, please visit www.fsga.org.

Organized in 1913, the Florida State Golf Association is a not-for-profit organization that governs amateur golf in the state of Florida. In addition to conducting 21 championships for amateur golfers in the state, the FSGA is responsible for 41 qualifying tournaments for USGA National Championships. The FSGA also maintains the USGA Handicap System, performs course ratings throughout Florida and assists in junior programs and scholarships.

ABOUT THE Florida Cup

Held every two years, the Florida Cup Matches vie 16 of the top amateurs from North Florida versus 16 of the top amateurs from South Florida. Using a Ryder-Cup format, the winner is determined by the number of points earned throughout the two days. Players are invited based on their performance from the previous two seasons. Some automatic selections are based on the FSGA two-year point's standings.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube