Crenshaw/Bowland vs Tucker/Roof for CGA Four-Ball title
Camden, SC, (May 5, 2012) -- In the morning quarter finals the defending Champions, Patrick Brady and Scott Harvey found themselves three down early to Paul Tucker and Brent Roof. Paul and Brent birdied four of the first five holes to take the lead. A three putt bogey on the 10th put the champs down four and lit a fire under Harvey and he responded with a birdie birdie eagle answer on 11-13 to narrow the gap to one. On the 190 yard 16th, Tucker hit his approach to three feet for a winning birdie. A halve on the 17th then sent the defending champs home. “We really played well today and it took our best to win” said Tucker.

In the second match, Cary Phillips and Chris Campbell, both Camden CC members, kept the home crowd hopes for a local victory alive with a 2 & 1 win over Travis Cashion and Luke McClellan. The last Camden team to win the Four-Ball was Austin Brown and Grainger Kornegay in 1958.

The medalist team of Matt Crenshaw and Blair Bowland, both from Burlington, NC, won a hard fought match against Brian Westveer of Charlotte and Chris Cassetta from Winston-Salem. A birdie on the 19th hole by Crenshaw earned his team a spot in the semifinals.

In the last quarterfinal match, Bryan Newton from Gray Court, SC and Bret Boulware from Greenville, SC put on a five birdie barrage on the back nine to pull away from Chris Eaves and Brian Mull.

In the first semifinal match, the Camden CC member's hopes for a hometown win were dashed when Cary Phillips and Chris Campbell fell to Paul Tucker and Brent Roof. Tucker and Roof carded six birdies through 16 holes for the 3 & 2 victory.

In the last match, the medalist continued to roll as Matt Crenshaw and Blair Bowland jumped out to an early lead with 7 birdies on the front side against last years runner-ups Bryan Newton and Bret Boulware.

The 18 hole final match begins tomorrow at 8 am.

ABOUT THE Carolinas Four-Ball

The Four-Ball Championship of the Carolinas is a perennial favorite with the Carolina's best amateur golfers. Two rounds of Four-Ball stroke play format (one best ball of the two) determine the 32 teams to advance to match play. Entry is open to any male amateur golfer who is a legal resident of one of the Carolinas, is a member in good standing of a club which is a member of the Carolinas Golf Association (CGA) and has a current (within 90 days of opening date) USGA handicap index at a CGA member club. The championship team receives merchandise, trophies and names inscribed on the Hale Van Hoy Trophy. Stroke play qualifying medalists’ names will be inscribed on the Joe B. McCarley Cup. Additional prizes are awarded to all match play contestants.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube