Australian Junior Championships: Badwhar, Santoso lead
QUEENSLAND, Australia (April 11, 2012) -- Queensland’s Viraat Badhwar has opened a three stroke lead on the field with an impressive 4-under par 68 at Bribie Island Golf Club in the opening round of the Australian Boys’ Amateur Championship.

Badhwar, a former Callaway World Junior champion, had five birdies and a bogey en route to his lead.

His closest rival is South Australian and former junior champion Anthony Murdaca who fired a 1-under par 71 to be in outright second.

A total of six players are in a tie for third at even par including Queensland locals Douglas Klein and Kade McBride and Trans-Tasman Cup representatives Ricky Kato (NSW) and Lucas Herbert (VIC).

Kato was 3 under par through 16 holes but a bogey on 17 and double bogey on 18 brought him back to the field.

The second round begins on Thursday morning.

More than 230 players from across Australia, New Zealand, Japan, China and Korea are contesting the 2012 Australian Boys’ and Girls’ Junior Championships with a spot in the respective Australian Opens on the line for the winners.

Defending champion Cathleen Santoso (NSW) began her title defense with a 2-under par 70 to take a one stroke lead after the opening round of the Australian Girls’ Amateur Championship at Carbrook Golf Club, south of Brisbane.

Santoso’s 70 in breezy conditions sees her lead Western Australia’s Hannah Green by one after Green’s 71.

Queenslander Emily McLennan is the best of the locals in a three way tie for third with Western Australian Hayley Bettencourt and Victoria’s Julienne Soo at even par.

Kiwi Julianne Alvarez leads the international contingent in a tie for sixth with Victorian Su Hyun Oh, Queensland based Korean Annie Choi and Queenslander Anna Stanton at 1 over par.

In a bunched leaderboard, 12 players are within four strokes of leader Santoso.

The second round begins on Thursday morning.

View results for Australian Junior Championships

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube