Three teams tied for the lead at the Texas State Club Team Championship
31 Mar 2012
by Texas Golf Association

Cedar Park, TX – (March 31, 2012) -- A warm spring day in the Hill Country produced a three way tie after round one of the Club Team Championship. Twin Creeks Country Club, hosting its first Texas Golf Association state championship, is proving to be a challenge for the players. There were no under par rounds recorded, but a crowded leader board should provide an exiting final round on Sunday.

The team from Ridgewood Country Club in Waco opened with a team total of 150 to tie for the lead. Colby Harwell fired an opening round 74 and John Derrick shot 76 to count for the team. Memorial Park Golf Course from Houston also shot a team total of 150 on day one. David Leiss fired 74 while Randy Lance contributed 76 to the team score. The Club at Comanche Trace from Kerrville also enters the final round tied for the lead. Trevor Hyde’s opening round 74 combined with a 76 from Wick Comegys to total 150. Lewis Stephenson (Walnut Creek CC), and Michael Parker (Northgate CC) are tied for individual medalist honors after opening rounds of even par 72.

The course provides dramatic Hill Country views thanks to low-lying ravines and rocky outcroppings. Designer Lee Schmidt says, "Playing this course will be what it would feel like if you just happened upon a golf course carved out of nature." Two creeks wind throughout the course to add to the challenge and provide natural water elements. The par 72 layout can be stretched to over 7,000 yards from the back tees.

The Club Team Championship is open to all member clubs of the Texas Golf Association. Clubs are responsible for selecting the three-man teams by any means they wish, but each team member must meet the following eligibility requirements: Be a male amateur member in good standing of the club listed on the entry form; be at least 25 years of age by March 31, 2012; have a current USGA handicap of 8.4 or less issued from the member club listed on the entry form; and a current resident of Texas. Format for the Club Team consists of all three team members playing two rounds of individual stroke play, with the two lowest scores counting towards their daily total. In addition to state bragging rights, teams will be vying for the Rotan Cup, which is presented to the champions for display at their home club. The elegant silver trophy was produced by Tiffany & Co. of New York and is named in honor of George V. Rotan, a five-time winner of the Texas Amateur and a member of the 1923 Walker Cup Team.

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube