Emory/Foshee win Georgia Four-Ball
HAWKINSVILLE, Ga. (March 25, 2012) – Ryan Emory and Billy Foshee, both of Valdosta, turned in rounds of 68-64-67, totaling 17-under-par 199, and held on to win the 24th annual Georgia Four-Ball Tournament. The tournament took place March 23-25 at Southern Hills Golf Club in Hawkinsville and Houston Lake Country Club in Perry. The winning duo finished three strokes ahead of the Hawkinsville pair and first-round leaders William Shively and Jody Woodruff, who finished at 14-under-par 202 (65-71-66).

Two-time Georgia Four-Ball Tournament winners (2009, ’10) Jack Benson of Roswell and Pete Malcolm of Duluth (70-65-68) tied for third overall with Rick Dubois and David Maddox (68-67-68), both of McDonough, at 13-under-par 203. Flight two’s winning team, Clay Gardner of Newnan and John Miles of Fayetteville, finished fifth overall at 12-under-par 204 (68-65-71). The sixth overall spot went to John Riordan of Duluth and Ray Zepp of Doraville (10-under-par 206; 70-66-70) from flight one, and the seventh overall spot went to a pair from Peachtree City, Gene Henderson and Barry Whatley (8-under-par 208; 66-69-73), from flight two. Rounding out the top-10 overall, four teams tied for eighth at 7-under-par 209: Lee Gerdes of Macon and Craig Wentworth of Thomasville (67-72-70); Brian Bossman of Newnan and David Nell of Sharpsburg (69-69-71) from flight one; flight 3 winners Greg Brock of Calhoun and Howell Kerr of Dalton (69-72-68) and Carl Adkins of Kathleen and Rick Moody ofHawkinsville (69-69-71) from flight three.

Emory and Foshee’s 199 winning score ties the 54-hole record originally set four years ago by 2008 Georgia Four-Ball Tournament winners Blake Clanton and Dwayne Hale, both of Albany, and tied last year by 2011 winners David Matthews and Doug Rayford, both of Valdosta.

Macon’s Cater Pierce and Colby Pierce won flight four at 6-under-par 210 (65-70-75). Chad Davis of Social Circle and Doug Lunsford of Flowery Branch (68-73-75) tied for first in flight five with Jim Liipfert of Marshallville and Joe Pearson of Fort Valley (73-71-72) at even-par 216. Flight six went to Forsyth’s Mark Gay and Steve Chafin at 5-under-par 211 (68-70-73), and flight seven went to Jason Bowen of Hoschton and Phil Hoddy of Clarkesville at 13-over-par 229 (76-75-78).

ABOUT THE Georgia Four-Ball Tournament

The Georgia Four-Ball Tournament, held annually since 1989, is open to male amateur golfers who are GSGA members and are residents of Georgia. The format is four-ball stroke play.

Entries: Open to two-man teams of male amateur golfers who have combined USGA Handicap Indexes of 4.0 and above and a maximum differential of 6 strokes

Field: 96 teams -- 82 teams determined by lottery, three spots reserved for each host club and one spot reserved for each of the previous year's flight winners

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube