New South Wales Amateur Finals: It's Michael Lambert vs. Brett Drewitt

NEW SOUTH WALES, Australia (Feb 7, 2012) --The final eight teed off this morning in the quarterfinals of the 2012 Men's NSW Amateur Championship match play, being held at Elanora Country Club.

Going right down to the 18th, Callan O'Reilly (Pennant Hills GC) made a three foot putt to win his match against Matt Steiger (St. Michael's GC), 1-up.

Michael Lambert (NSWGC) defeated Daniel Pearce (Yarra Yarra GC, Vic) 3 & 1, while Brett Drewitt (Long Reef GC) won his match 2 & 1 against Ricky Kato (Bonnie Doon GC).

Jake Higginbottom (The Australian GC) knocked out the last international in the tournament, Ireland's Reeve Whitson, winning comfortably 4 & 3.

In this afternoon's semifinal matches, O'Reilly will play Lambert, and Higginbottom will go up against Drewitt.


The semifinals were played this afternoon.

Callan O'Reilly v Michael Lambert
After 3 - Square
After 6 - O'Reilly 1-up
After 9 - Square
After 12 - Lambert 2-up
After 15 - Lambert 1-up
After 18 - Sqaure Lambert wins on the 19th

Brett Drewitt v Jake Higginbottom
After 3 - Drewitt 3-up
After 6 - Drewitt 4-up
After 9 - Drewitt 3-up
After 12 - Drewitt 2-up
After 15 - Drewitt 2-up
Drewitt wins 3 & 2.

Michael Lambert of New South Wales Golf Club will take on Brett Drewitt of Long Reef Golf Club in the tomorrow's 36-hole final match for the New South Wales Amateur title.

Results For New South Wales Men's Amateur Championship
WinAustraliaBrett DrewittAustralia700
Runner-upAustraliaMichael LambertAustralia500
SemifinalsAustraliaCallan O'ReillyAustralia400
SemifinalsAustraliaJake HigginbottomAustralia400
QuarterfinalsNorthern IrelandReeve WhitsonNorthern Ireland300

View full results for New South Wales Men's Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE New South Wales Men's Amateur

The NSW Medal is played over two courses. It is two rounds of 18-holes stroke play and then match play.

The field is evenly divided between the two venues for the first day’s play with players changing venues for their second round. The winner of the 76 holes stroke play section of the Championship is the winner of the NSW Medal.

The leading 32 players from the NSW Medal (who have nominated to play in the NSW Amateur) will be eligible to compete in the NSW Amateur Championship Match Play, with each match played over 18-holes other than the Final which is played over 36-holes. The match play is seeded with ties determined by lot.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube