New South Wales Amateur down to quarterfinals
06 Feb 2012
see also: Royal Canberra Golf Club


NEW SOUTH WALES, Australia (Feb. 6, 2012) -- The rounds of 32 and 16 were played today in the 2012 Men’s NSW Amateur Championship match play, held at Elanora Golf Club.

Number one seed and NSW Medalist Neil Raymond (Corhampton GC, UK) was knocked out in the first round by 32nd seed Matt Stieger (St Michaels GC) on the 19th hole. Stieger also won his second match, seeing him through to the quarter finals tomorrow.

Others successfully through to tomorrow's quarter finals are Callan O’Reilly (Pennant Hills GC), Daniel Pearce (Yarra Yarra GC, Vic), Michael Lambert (New South Wales GC), Brett Drewitt (Long Reef GC), Ricky Kato (Bonnie Doon GC), Jake Higginbottom (The Australian GC) and Reeve Whitson (Mourne GC, Ireland).

Quarter Finals kick off at 8:00am tomorrow.

ABOUT THE New South Wales Men's Amateur

The NSW Medal is played over two courses. It is two rounds of 18-holes stroke play and then match play.

The field is evenly divided between the two venues for the first day’s play with players changing venues for their second round. The winner of the 76 holes stroke play section of the Championship is the winner of the NSW Medal.

The leading 32 players from the NSW Medal (who have nominated to play in the NSW Amateur) will be eligible to compete in the NSW Amateur Championship Match Play, with each match played over 18-holes other than the Final which is played over 36-holes. The match play is seeded with ties determined by lot.

View Complete Tournament Information

Results For New South Wales Men's Amateur Golf Championship
WinAustraliaBrett DrewittAustralia700
Runner-upAustraliaMichael LambertAustralia500
SemifinalsAustraliaCallan O'ReillyAustralia400
SemifinalsAustraliaJake HigginbottomAustralia400
QuarterfinalsNorthern IrelandReeve WhitsonNorthern Ireland300

View full results for New South Wales Men's Amateur Golf Championship

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube