Arizona Wildcats win Arizona Intercollegiate by one

TUCSON, Ariz. (Jan. 31, 2012) -- The University of Arizona men's golf team held on to a slim lead heading into the final round of the Arizona Intercollegiate and made it hold up in winning by one stroke over California Tuesday at Arizona National Golf Club.

Arizona (835/-17), California (836/-16), and third-place New Mexico (850/-2) were the only teams in the field of 12 to finish under par.

In the event's 32-year history, Arizona has won the Arizona Intercollegiate six times ('88, '91, '96, 2003, '04, and '12).

It also is the sixth time in Arizona Intercollegiate history that the team title has been decided by one stroke ('84, '87, '94, 2002, '10, `12). In a reversal of today's result, California topped Arizona 823-824 in 2010, the last time the tournament saw a one-stroke margin of victory.

New Mexico's John Catlin battled from third place in the first round to finish with a final score of 203 (-10). Catlin held off Arizona junior Juan Pablo Hernandez by three strokes to take individual medalist honors. Joining Hernandez in the top five was his UA teammate and freshman Tucker Wadkins, who tied for third place shooting a five-under 208.

Along with Hernandez and Wadkins, sophomores Chris Capo and Erik Oja finished in the top-10, both shooting an identical 212 (-1) totals.

The victory marks the 72nd in Arizona program history, and 62 of those have come under head coach Rick LaRose. Also, the win marks Arizona's third in the last three seasons, and its first since winning the Anteater Invitational last February.

ABOUT THE Arizona Intercollegiate

54 hole men's college tournament hosted by the University of Arizona. Team and individual competitions, with the best four of five rounds each day comprising the team score.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube