Lydia Ko makes history with Australian Women's Amateur win
22 Jan 2012
see also: Yarra Yarra Golf Club, Lydia Ko Rankings, Lydia Ko Profile


MELBOURNE, Australia (Jan. 22, 2011) -- World No 1 Lydia Ko has won the Australian amateur title and is believed to be one of the youngest winners in the 118 year history of the event.

The North Shore golfer, who has made a habit of rewriting history in her short but illustrious amateur career, defeated Victorian Breanna Elliott 4 and 3 at the Woodlands Golf Club in Melbourne today.

Ko becomes one the youngest winner of the trophy that dates back to 1894 and she follows in the footsteps of Kiwi golfers Guy Williams (1920), Oliver Kay (1933, 1936) and Jan Higgins (1989) who have won the title.

Golf Australia records do not have an indication of the ages of the champions of the early years of the Australian women's amateur but believed Ko was among the youngest winners of the event.

"I am really proud of myself," said the 14-year-old. "I won the Australian stroke play title last year and finished second in qualifying, but this is so much better. There has been a lot of pressure all week and I have been really happy with how I have played, and to come through to the end and win is amazing.

Results For Australian Women's Amateur Golf Championship
Place  Pts
WinNew ZealandLydia KoNew Zealand1000
Runner-upAustraliaBreanna ElliottAustralia700
SemifinalsAustraliaWhitney HillierAustralia500
SemifinalsAustraliaMinjee LeeAustralia500
QuarterfinalsNew ZealandGrace LennonNew Zealand400

View full results for Australian Women's Amateur Golf Championship

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube