Australian Women's Amateur: Elliott to meet Ko in finals

Kingston Heath member Breanna Elliott (Vic) will take on world number 1 Lydia Ko (NZ) in the final of the Australian Amateur Championship at Woodlands Golf Club.

Elliott, a former Lake Macquarie Amateur champion, defeated West Australian Whitney Hillier 5&4 to seal her place in the final. Ko joins her in the final after defeating last year’s runner up, Minjee Lee (WA), 6&4 in fine conditions.

Should Ko win, she would be the first New Zealander since Jan Higgins in 1989 to win the Australian Amateur title.

The last international player to win was Great Britain’s Julie Hall in 1995.

Elliott would follow in the footsteps of the last Victorian champion, Stacey Keating, who won in 2010.

The winner earns an exemption into next month’s LPGA Tour season opening ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open at Royal Melbourne Golf Club.

The 36 hole final will be held on Sunday. The first 18 holes commences at 8.30am and the second 18 holes commences at 12.45pm.

Results For Australian Women's Amateur Championship
WinNew ZealandLydia KoNew Zealand1000
Runner-upAustraliaBreanna ElliottAustralia700
SemifinalsAustraliaWhitney HillierAustralia500
SemifinalsAustraliaMinjee LeeAustralia500
QuarterfinalsNew ZealandGrace LennonNew Zealand400

View full results for Australian Women's Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE Australian Women's Amateur

The Australian Women's Amateur Championship is contested over 36-holes stroke play qualifying, with the leading 32 players progressing to elimination match play. It is open to players of all ages with an initial field size of 72 players.

It was first played in 1894 and past winners include touring professionals Nikki Campbell, Sarah Oh and Kristie Smith.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube