Australian Amateur: Defending champion Matt Stieger and medalist Cameron Smith exit early

MELBOURNE, Australia (Jan. 20, 2011) -- There were more upsets on the second day of Match Play at the Australian Amateur Championship at Woodlands Golf Club in Melbourne.

Defending champion Matt Stieger (NSW) was knocked out by Germany’s Marcel Schneider 5&4 with the German 6-under through his opening seven holes.

Medallist and 2011 Stroke Play champion Cameron Smith lost to Ricky Kato (NSW) 1 down.

Daniel Bringolf (NSW) defeated Victorian Todd Sinnott 4&3 while Geoff Drakeford (Vic) and Daniel Nisbet (Qld) also won.

New Zealanders Blair Riordan and Ben Campbell made their exit from the championship.

The quarter finalists are Ricky Kato (NSW), Marcel Schneider (GER), Ruben Sondjaja (NSW), Daniel Bringolf (NSW), Geoff Drakeford (Vic), Jordan Zunic (NSW), Christopher-John Harrop (Qld) and Daniel Nisbet (Qld).

Results For Australian Men's Amateur Championship
WinGermanyMarcel SchneiderGermany1000
Runner-upAustraliaDaniel NisbetAustralia700
SemifinalsAustraliaRuben SondjajaAustralia500
SemifinalsAustraliaJordan ZunicAustralia500
QuarterfinalsAustraliaRicky KatoAustralia300

View full results for Australian Men's Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE Australian Men's Amateur

The Australian Men's and Women's Amateur Championships are Australia's oldest Amateur Golf Championships, with both having been played since 1894.

Players contest 36-holes stroke play qualifying, with the leading 64 men qualifying for elimination match play. The initial field size is 216 men.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube