New Year's Invitational: Ben Klaus, Tee Wan Lee tied for lead

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. (Jan. 5, 2012) -- Ben Klaus and Tee Wan Lee were tied at the top of the leaderboard following the first round of play at the 2012 New Year's Invitational at St. Petersburg Country Club.

In the 86th playing of the event, the leaders jumped out a a one-shot lead following matching 68s.

Dominic Bozzelli, Mike Furci and Stephan Jaegar were all one shot back after firing 69s.In the mid-am division, Mike Barbosa, Dave Bunker and Billy Williamson were all tied for the lead after shooting 72. Dalton Melnyk (74) and Jarryd Dillas (76) were just a few shots back.Kent Whitmore holds a one shot lead after shooting 76 in the senior division. Thomas Hyland and Stuart Sierra are each one shot back.

Play continues through the weekend with second-round play beginning Friday morning.

Results For New Year's Invitational Golf Tournament
Place  PtsScores
T1VAGarland GreenTazewell, VA70072-66-69-71--278
T1GermanyStephan JaegerGermany50069-65-72-72--278
T1NYJim LiuSmithtown, NY50071-70-67-70--278
T4TNBrandon RodgersKnoxville, TN40073-71-70-66--280
T4FLMichael HebertOrlando, FL40074-67-70-66--280

View full results for New Year's Invitational Golf Tournament

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube