Mission Viejo Championship: Wax, @ 67 Leads by 1

By Pete Wlodkowski, amateurgolf.com

Note: To view a printable list of Sunday pairings by tee time, click here>

MISSION VIEJO, CA (Sept 24, 2005) -- Standing in the 18th fairway after a monstrous drive, Eugene Choi of Diamond Bar, Calif. stood a full 5 strokes behind leader Daniel Wax. Just a few seconds later, the lead was down to 2, thanks to a laser-perfect 3 iron that found the hole for a rare double-eagle 2 on the water-guarded par 5.

Choi stood in disbelief, and even after being told that his ball was in the cup he walked to the 18th green with a wedge and putter in his hand. (Those, of course, weren't necessary)

Wax had posted his solid round of 67 after a start that everyone in the field would envy - birdie, birdie, birdie. And he narrowly missed birdie on the fourth hole when his putt slid by the cup. Jason Pridmore, playing with Wax, shot 68 thanks to 4 birdies on the back nine that allowed him to get within 1 of the Wax.

Choi is joined at 69 by Justin Gray of Westminister, Calif. and the four players in the 60's will square off in Sunday's final round to determine the champion of this inaugural event.

In the Senior Division, Conrad Lawrence's round of 69 puts him in a more comfortable postition than Wax; he has a 7-stroke lead over Eugene Medlock of Westlake Village. And demonstrating how hard it can be to 'shoot your handicap' nobody in the Net Division bettered par, with Tom Jablonski holding a 1 stroke lead over Travis Corcoran after a net 74.

* * * * *

First round results from the inaugural amateurgolf.com Mission Viejo Championship, played at the par 72 Arroyo Trabuco Golf Club:

NOTE: Sunday tee times are listed in the column on the left. To view a printable list of Sunday pairings by tee time, click here>

Sunday First Last City St Rd1
9:06 Daniel Wax Pacific Palisades CA 67
9:06 Jason Pridmore Ventura CA 68
9:06 Eugene Choi Diamond Bar CA 69
9:06 Justin Gray Westminster CA 69
8:57 Derek Zellmer Huntington Beach CA 71
8:57 Micah Burke San Bernardino CA 72
8:57 Frank Chiu Morongo Valley CA 72
8:57 Brian Barre Garden Grove CA 73
8:48 David Pichon Ventura CA 73
8:48 Jeffrey Chen walnut CA 74
8:48 Joe Johnson Carlsbad CA 74
8:48 Andy Chao San Diego CA 75
8:39 Alexander Resurreccion Long Beach CA 75
8:39 Adam Rodriguez Lake Forest CA 75
8:39 Johnny Ferreira San Diego CA 76
8:39 Joel Fieri San Diego CA 76
8:30 Brian Kim Yorba Linda CA 76
8:30 Patrick MacMichael Santa Barbara CA 76
8:30 Tyler Smith San Juan Capistrano CA 76
8:21 Joshua Walsh Milpitas CA 76
7:18 Carl Chang RSM CA 77
8:03 David Hahn Henderson NV 77
8:21 Lincoln James Ventura CA 77
8:21 Yung Kim Wilmington CA 77
8:12 Chris Moreno-Hunt Berkeley CA 77
7:18 Todd Palmaer Corona Del Mar CA 77
8:12 Bo DeHuff Coto De Caza CA 78
8:12 John Lavery Mission Viejo CA 78
8:12 Matt Marshall Los Gatos CA 78
8:03 Dylan Pelletier-Ross Claremont CA 78
8:03 Will Ritter Aliso Viejo CA 78
8:03 Kris Assawapimonporn Huntington Beach CA 79
7:54 David Lebowitz Santa Monica CA 79
7:54 James Lynch Placentia CA 79
8:21 Chris Balster Milpitas CA 79
7:54 Rob Douglas Downey CA 80
7:18 Nick Lindesay Newport Beach CA 80
7:45 Josh Mecouch Portland OR 80
7:45 Stephen Motte Perris CA 81
7:45 Issei Suenaga Rancho Santa Margarita CA 81
7:45 Kevin Hartsoch Playa del Rey CA 82
7:36 Andrew Varela San Diego CA 82
7:36 Eric Akeson Peoria IL 83
7:36 Rick Holguin Dove Canyon CA 83
7:27 Jack Kim Los Angeles CA 83
7:27 William Ellis Hermosa Beach CA 85
7:18 Pete Wlodkowski Carlsbad CA 85
7:27 Kevin McKelvie Aliso Viejo CA 85
7:27 George Jackson Murrieta CA 88
9:15 Tyler Smith Irvine CA 88
9:15 John Fluman San Clemente CA 89
9:15 Kevin Klatt San Diego CA 89
9:15 Tyler Todhunter Mission Viejo CA 89
Ryan Kahl Palmdale CA dns
Patrick Walker San CLemente CA dns
Sunday First Last City St Rd1
7:09 Conrad Lawrence Marina Del Rey CA 69
7:09 Eugene Medlock Westlake Village CA 76
7:09 Peter Daley Newport Beach CA 77
7:09 Mike Marcus Dana Point CA 82
7:00 Patrick Reynolds Irvine CA 84
7:00 Steve Spiva Solana Beach CA 87
7:00 Gregory Waller Tustin CA 89
James Brickey Jr. Danville CA dns
Sunday First Last City St Rd1
9:42 Tom Jablonowski Santa Monica CA 74
9:42 Travis Corcoran Laguna Niguel CA 75
9:42 Thomas Marr Newport Beach CA 77
9:42 Robert Riley R.S.M CA 78
9:33 Robby Gau Coto de Caza CA 79
9:33 Peter Hlavin Trabuco Canyon CA 79
9:33 Barbara Thomas San Diego CA 80
9:33 Craig Iverson Arroyo Grande CA 82
9:24 Robert Eliseo Victorville CA 84
9:24 Michael Brown Aliso Viejo CA 87
9:24 John Sawicki Corona del Mar CA 88

ABOUT THE amateurgolf.com Mission Viejo Championship

We are now accepting entries for this new event at the fantastic Arroyo Trabuco Golf Club in Mission Viejo. 36 hole stroke play championship with morning tee times on Saturday and Sunday. No cut.

Championship Division, Senior Championship Division, and limited-handicap Net Division (maximum index 15.0). Click the 'registration' button to enter now. Save $10 when registering before July 1st.

$240 (early registration incentive, before July 1) includes 2 rounds of golf with carts, generous total prize fund of $4000 (based on a full field) Note: Fee is $250 after July 1.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube