Smith/Cannon win Trans-Mississippi Four Ball

SCOTTSDALE, ARIZ (Sept. 15, 2011) -- Scottdale residents Jeff Smith and Kevin Cannon led wire to wire and held on to win the 31st Trans-Mississippi Four-Ball Championship at Desert Mountain. Smith and Cannon finished the championship at 16-under par 200 for the 54-hole championship.

The teams of Richard Yoon/Gregory Lopez and Michael Alsup/David Tudor both shot 7-under par 65’s in the final round to make a charge for the championship, but came up one shot short to finish in a tie for second at 15-under par 201.

In the Senior Division, Warren Huddleston and Lee Sandlin, both of Dallas, cruised to the senior title. Huddleston/Sandlin finished at 21-under par 195 for the championship.

Jay Pumphrey and Bob Sine finished in the senior runner-up position at 15-under par 201.

ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Four-Ball

One of three annual championships hosted each year by the historic Trans-Mississippi Golf Association. Each player must be a member of a Trans-Mississippi member club, but not necessarily the same club. Players who do not belong to a Trans-Miss member club can speak to their club's manager or board of directors to encourage them to join (dues are very reasonable and support the Trans-Miss Turf Scholarship Fund). Alternatively, entrants may make a contribution in lieu of club membership to the Turf Scholarship Fund.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube