Patrick Cantlay named Haskins winner ahead of Walker Cup
01 Sep 2011
by Golfweek

see also: The Walker Cup, Royal Liverpool Golf Club


Golfweek’s College Player of the Year has added another accolade.

Patrick Cantlay, the top-ranked player in men’s college golf as a UCLA freshman, has been named winner of the Fred Haskins Award.

The award, selected by coaches, players, golf media, golf sports information directors and past champions, dates to 1971. It is named in honor of the late Country Club of Columbus (Ga.) head professional, who tutored generations of golfers.

Cantlay, 19, of Los Alamitos, Calif., won four tournaments as a freshman, including the NCAA West Regional title, and compiled a 70.49 stroke average. He placed second at the NCAA Championship.

He is the No. 1 amateur in the world, according to Golfweek/amateurgolf.com Player Rankings.

He will receive the award in November in Los Angeles.

“It’s obviously a great honor,” Cantlay said. “I know (the award) has been around for a long time and there are some great names who have won it. So to join that group is pretty special.”

Madden Hatcher Jr., chairman of the Haskins Commission, said: “Patrick Cantlay had an outstanding college golf season. His record vaulted him to the top of the list for the 2011 Fred Haskins Award. We are indeed proud of Patrick’s accomplishments.”

Since the college season ended in June, Cantlay has extended his string of accomplishments. He won the Southern California Amateur, tied for 21st in the U.S. Open, tied for ninth in the RBC Canadian Open and finished runner-up in the Western Amateur and the recent U.S. Amateur. He was named to the U.S. Walker Cup team that will play the top amateurs from Great Britain & Ireland in September in Scotland.

Cantlay opened eyes nationally with a second-round 60 in The Travelers Championship, the lowest score by an amateur in PGA Tour history.

Peter Uihlein, the 2010 U.S. Amateur champion, finished second in the Haskins Award balloting.

Ben Crenshaw, the former University of Texas star and future Masters champion, won the first three Haskins Awards. Phil Mickelson and Bobby Clampett also were multiple winners. The list of winners includes such future professional stars as Tiger Woods, Stewart Cink, Matt Kuchar, Curtis Strange, Luke Donald, Graeme McDowell and Charles Howell III.

For more information on the award, visit www.haskinsaward.org

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube