2012 Callaway Collegiate Match Play field set

SARASOTA, Fla. (Aug. 22, 2011) -- The field for the 2012 Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship has been announced by the GCAA. The event will be held March 18-20 at The Concession Golf Club in Sarasota, Fla.

South Florida will serve as host school for the event and will be joined by defending champion Duke, Arizona State, Arkansas, California, Chattanooga, Colorado State, East Carolina, Indiana, Iowa, Kennesaw State, Liberty, UNC-Wilm¬ington, Oklahoma State, Tennessee and Washington State. Oklahoma State is the only two-time winner in the event's history (2004 and 2006). Arkansas, East Carolina, Kennesaw State, Liberty, UNC-Wilmington and South Florida will be making their first appearances in the event.

"We are proud to again sponsor the Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship and welcome both past participants and new programs to this year's event at The Concession," said Nick Raffaele, Vice President, Sports Marketing, Callaway Golf. "Callaway has always made a strong commitment to hard work and success and with programs that match that commitment from across the nation at this year's event, there is no doubt that a worthy champion will be crowned."

The Concession Golf Club, a Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course designed in association with Tony Jacklin, was named "Best New Private Course of 2006" by Golf Digest magazine. It holds one of the highest Course and Slope Ratings by the United States Golf Association. The 7,470-yard, par 72 layout, is set on 520 acres of ruggedly pristine land dotted with massive oaks and majestic pines. It runs three miles from tip to tip.

"We are extremely pleased to host the 2012 Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship," said Bruce Cassidy Jr., General Manager of The Concession Golf Club. "The Concession offers many risk/reward opportunities. Our members and golf fans from all around will be excited to see the best Division I collegiate golfers tackle the course in match play."

More information about the event will become available online at www.collegiatematchplay.com as the event approaches.

For additional information about The Concession Golf Club, visit www.theconcession.com or call 941-322-1922.

ABOUT THE Callaway Collegiate Match Play

Match men's college tournament hosted by the Callaway Golf and Hawks Ridge Golf Club. Georgia Tech will serve as host school for the event and will be joined by Alabama, Baylor, Duke, East Tennessee State, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Pacific, South Carolina, Southern California, Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, UCLA and Washington State. Georgia (2005) and UCLA (2007) are past winners of the Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship while 2010 runner-up Southern California leads a contingent of five teams (Iowa, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, UCLA) returning from last year’s tournament. Baylor, East Tennessee State, Illinois, Pacific and Washington State will be making their first appearances in the event.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube