Tennessee Senior Am: Final results

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. (Aug. 18, 2011) --With the weather cooperating, the players did the same which produced a dramatic ending to the 41st Annual Senior Amateur Championship, which was contested at Council Fire GC. While the Super Senior division was won outright, the Championship division was settled by a playoff.

Ron Waters (Alcoa) captured the Championship division, winning with a par on the third playoff hole. Waters’ place in the playoff wasn’t secured until he made an eagle on the last hole of regulation. That eagle gave Waters a round of one under par 70 to finish the 54 holes at 3-under-par 213. Overnight leader Doug Harris (Franklin) closed with a 2 over par 74 to find himself tied with Waters in the playoff. The Senior Amateur is Waters, the coach of the Maryville Men’s Golf team, first state title in his first try as a senior.

Jim Nancarrow (Loudon) played consistent golf over the three days and the result was a victory in the Super Senior division. Nancarrow shot a round of 3 over par 75 to finish the championship at 7 over par 223. Finishing in a tie for second were Bill Crawford (Nashville) and Ron Bargatze (Whitehouse), two shots back of the champion.

View results for Tennessee Senior Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Tennessee Senior Amateur

The inaugural State Senior Amateur Championship was played in 1965 at the original Colonial Country Club in Memphis. Curtis Person, a Colonial member, shot 211 to easily outdistance Earl Pate by seven strokes. When Chattanooga’s Lew Oehmig won five straight championships from 1969 to 1973, the tournament was discontinued. It was revived in 1980 and Oehmig won two more for a record seven. It was 1993 before Tennessee came into compliance with USGA rules by limiting senior play by amateur men to 55 and older. In 2008 the Super Senior division was added for players 65 and over.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube