NCGA Junior Am: Grenz, Sorensen winners

PEBBLE BEACH, Calif. (July 26, 2011) -- Michael Grenz and Clare Sorensen were the two overall winners of the 2011 NCGA Junior Championship, which wrapped up Tuesday at Spyglass Hill.

Grenz of Sloughhouse posted a final round four-under 68 to claim his victory, finishing off the day with five birdies on his last nine holes to put him ahead of the competition. “I played amazing today,” said Grenz. “I birdied my first five out of six down the stretch to put me in a good spot.” Grenz finished off the tournament with a 71, 76, 68 for a 215 total.

Sorensen of Roseville captured the girls overall title. “I had a lot of birdies, which helped,” said Sorensen. “I figured out the greens a lot better today.” The 17-year-old had four birdies on the day and an eagle on the par-five 10th hole. The rising senior at Christian Brothers High School finished at seven-over-par 151 posting rounds of 79-72. Marissa Hinchman of Lodi carded an eight-over 152 to secure second place. Mariko Tumangan of San Jose finished third, three strokes back of the leader.

Paul Smith of Turlock won the Boys 16-18 flight with 74-71-71–216. Last year’s champion Matt Pinizzotto of Salinas and Kit Carson of Galt tied for second place, two strokes back with two-over-par totals of 218.

Maverick McNealy of Portola Valley nabbed the Boys 14-15 flight after three consistent rounds of 72, 74, 73 for a 219 total. Sebastian Crampton of Pacific Grove finished second highlighted by a third-round three-under 69. William Brueckner of Walnut Creek and Ryan Han of Hollister finished in third, six strokes back from the leader.

Eddy Lai of San Jose held on to his opening-round lead to win the Boys 12-13 flight with impressive rounds of 72-79. Austin Murphy of Morgan Hill took home second place honors carding a second-round 76. William Choi of Dublin earned third place after a final-round 79.

The NCGA Junior Championship began in 1930 and boasts several champions who later became PGA Tour players. Notable winners include Ken Venturi in 1949, Bobby Clampett in 1976 and Joel Kriebel in 1993.

The only male player to win back-to-back championships is 1998 and 1999 winner Tom Johnson, while Jamille Rose took home back-to-back honors in the girl’s division in 1988 and 1989.


The NCGA Junior Championship began in 1930 and carries with it a rich history of young champions including eventual PGA Tour players. Notable winners include Ken Venturi in 1949, Bobby Clampett in 1976 and Joel Kribel in 1993.

Open to all boys and girls who have not reached their 19th birthday by the start of the tournament. NCGA membership is required. Divisions: Boys: 13& under, 14-15, 16-18 Girls: All girls will be competing in the same division. Championship consists of 54 holes for boys, ages 14-15, 16-18; 36 holes on the first day with the field cut to 18 holes on the second day. Boys 13 & under and all girls will play 18 holes each day with no cut.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube