English boosts Walker Cup prospects with Southern Am win

PALM HARBOR, FL (July 16, 2011) – Georgia All-American Harris English broke out of a five-way jam at the top of the leaderboard to win the 105th Southern Amateur Saturday at Innisbrook Resort Copperhead Course.

With five players knotted at 6-under-par heading into the final nine, English birdied four of his next six holes to open a decisive 3-stroke lead over the elite international field.

After a brief lightning delay, English completed his closing round at a tournament low 65 for a 275 total.

“I didn’t want to stop while I was on a roll,” said English.

He had bunkered his approach to the 17th before play was halted, but resumed with an excellent blast to within a foot of the hole.

Three strokes back at 278 were Aussie Tarquin MacManus, Georgia Tech’s Richy Werenski and Alabama soph Bobby Wyatt.

Among perks for English winner is a playing spot in the PGA Tour Arnold Palmer Invitational next March, but only if he is still an amateur at that time. He said he may turn pro this fall.

Results For Southern Amateur Golf Championship
1GAHarris EnglishThomasville, GA100069-68-73-65--275
T2ALBobby WyattMobile, AL70070-72-70-66--278
T2MARichy WerenskiSouth Hadley, MA70068-71-68-71--278
T2AustraliaTarquin MacManusAustralia70073-67-66-72--278
5FLBlayne BarberLake City, FL50071-72-69-67--279

View full results for Southern Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Southern Amateur

The Southern Amateur, which dates back to 1902, is one of two competitions held by the Southern Golf Association. (The other is the Southern Junior.) Its champions roster is like a who’s who’s of competitive golf. (And the same could be said of the standing of its host clubs.) Leading this group is Robert T. (Bobby) Jones, Jr., who was the Southern Amateur Champion in 1917, 1920, and 1922. Others who have won or finished in a challenging position and gone on to national and/or international prominence include Tommy Barnes, Dale Morey, Don January, Gay Brewer, Doug Sanders, Billy Joe Patton, Lew Oehmig, Hubert Green, Downing Gray, Marvin (Vinny) Giles, Lanny Wadkins, Steve Melnyk, Tom Kite, John Mahaffey, Ben Crenshaw, Gary Koch, Bill Rogers, Gil Morgan, Danny Edwards, Andy Bean, Vance Haefner, Jerry Pate, Chip Beck, David Edwards, Jay Sigel, Bob Tway, Mark Brooks, Gene Sauers, Davis Love, Justin Leonard and more recently PGA Tour standouts Webb Simpson and Kyle Stanley, who won twice each between 2005 and 2008 in alternate years.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube