Southern Am: McManus leads into final round

PALM HARBOR, FL – Tarquin McManus, a University of Arizona senior from Cairns, Australia, holds a one-stroke lead heading into Saturday’s final round of the 105th Southern Amateur at Innisbrook Resort Copperhead course.

McManus fired a 5-under-par 66 on Friday to take the lead at 206 thanks to a sterling up-and-down save from out of the rough short of the 18th hole. That total kept him one stroke in front of UCLA All-American Gregor Main and Georgia Tech sophomore Richy Werenski, who said he will be playing in the final group at any significant tournament for the first time in his memory. “And this is definitely a significant event,” McManus said of a venerable Southern Am that has evolved into a national and international major amateur.

Main, who overcame a run of three bogeys midway through his opening nine Friday, will be gunning for his second Southern Am title, having won this event two years ago in Memphis.

A perk awaiting the winner is an exempt spot in the PGA Tour Arnold Palmer Invitational in Orlando next March.

Results For Southern Amateur Golf Championship
1GAHarris EnglishThomasville, GA100069-68-73-65--275
T2ALBobby WyattMobile, AL70070-72-70-66--278
T2MARichy WerenskiSouth Hadley, MA70068-71-68-71--278
T2AustraliaTarquin MacManusAustralia70073-67-66-72--278
5FLBlayne BarberLake City, FL50071-72-69-67--279

View full results for Southern Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Southern Amateur

The Southern Amateur, which dates back to 1902, is one of two competitions held by the Southern Golf Association (the other is the Southern Junior). This is a 72-hole stroke play championship with a cut made after 36 holes. Entries are open to any male amateur golfer who has a current USGA Handicap Index® not exceeding 3.4 under the USGA Handicap System. Non-exempt players must pre-qualify at one of the qualifying sites held across the southern U.S. in the two months leading up to the championship.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube