Southern Amateur: Main, Fox tied for lead

PALM HARBOR, FL -- UCLA All-American Gregor Main and New Zealand’s Ryan Fox are tied for the lead at the midpoint of the 105th Southern Amateur at Innisbrook Resort Copperhead Course. Paired together during the first two rounds, Main and Fox came to the final hole on Thursday tied for the lead.

Fox hit his approach to within six inches for a tap-in birdie to nose in front momentarily, but Main matched him with an 8-foot birdie as they both completed the first 36 holes at 6-under-par 136. University of Georgia All-American Harris English is one stroke back.

Main is gunning for his second Southern Am title, having won two years ago in Memphis. The stocky Fox, 24, has seen his power game come together this year, winning two of the three top amateur tournaments in his homeland.

“It was fun out there swapping birdies with Gregor,” said Fox. “I got the putter going today.” But it was his long driving that overpowered Copperhead’s par-fives with birdies on three of the four. Fox and Main both plan to turn pro later this year.

The field was cut to the low 66 and ties for the final 36 holes Friday and Saturday. The winner earns an automatic invitation to compete in the PGA Tour Arnold Palmer Invitational next spring in Orlando.

Results For Southern Amateur Golf Championship
1GAHarris EnglishThomasville, GA100069-68-73-65--275
T2ALBobby WyattMobile, AL70070-72-70-66--278
T2MARichy WerenskiSouth Hadley, MA70068-71-68-71--278
T2AustraliaTarquin MacManusAustralia70073-67-66-72--278
5FLBlayne BarberLake City, FL50071-72-69-67--279

View full results for Southern Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Southern Amateur

The Southern Amateur, which dates back to 1902, is one of two competitions held by the Southern Golf Association. (The other is the Southern Junior.) Its champions roster is like a who’s who’s of competitive golf. (And the same could be said of the standing of its host clubs.) Leading this group is Robert T. (Bobby) Jones, Jr., who was the Southern Amateur Champion in 1917, 1920, and 1922. Others who have won or finished in a challenging position and gone on to national and/or international prominence include Tommy Barnes, Dale Morey, Don January, Gay Brewer, Doug Sanders, Billy Joe Patton, Lew Oehmig, Hubert Green, Downing Gray, Marvin (Vinny) Giles, Lanny Wadkins, Steve Melnyk, Tom Kite, John Mahaffey, Ben Crenshaw, Gary Koch, Bill Rogers, Gil Morgan, Danny Edwards, Andy Bean, Vance Haefner, Jerry Pate, Chip Beck, David Edwards, Jay Sigel, Bob Tway, Mark Brooks, Gene Sauers, Davis Love, Justin Leonard and more recently PGA Tour standouts Webb Simpson and Kyle Stanley, who won twice each between 2005 and 2008 in alternate years.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube