Iowa Match Play: Tops seeds upset in 2nd round

BURLINGON, IA. (June 30, 2011) – The final 16 have been determined at the 23rd IGA Match Play Championship. Kyle Menke is now the top seed (#3) left after (#1) Mike Oimoen and (#2) seed and defending champion Cody Schweinefus were both ousted in round two in 19 holes. The defending champion was taken out by Ben Peters while Oimoen was defeated by Mike Patzia.

Patzia now faces the lone remaining former champion in Jon Brown. Brown advanced to the round of 16 by defeating Aaron O'Brien and J.B. Spillane in his first two matches. Brown won the Match Play in 2004 and 2006. Also still alive are Terry Cook who advanced to the 2005 finals, the last time the Match Play was held at Spirit Hollow, and Gene Elliott who was a runner-up in 2002 to Joe Palmer and is still looking for his first win at this championship. J.D. Anderson, who was defeated by Oimoen in the 2007 finals and also was runner-up in 2008, has advanced to the round of 16.

The field played 18 holes of stroke play qualifying on June 29th to determine the 64 players who advanced to the match play bracket. Two rounds of matches are played on June 30th, July 1st and the semifinals and finals are contested on July 2nd. Click the links below to follow along.

ABOUT THE Iowa Match Play

18 holes of stroke play qualifying to determine a 64- player match play bracket. The defending champion is exempt from the 18-hole qualifying round. The defending champion may choose to compete in the qualifying round to earn medalist honors but is assured of no lower than the #2 seed in Match Play. Must be an IGA member.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube