NCAA Men's Finals: A preview

By Ron Baliki

STILLWATER, Okla.(May 30, 2011) - For a number of years, many have talked about the parity in men’s Div. I golf. No longer is it 6 or 7 teams that “have a chance” to win a national title. That number can now range into the 20s.

And, because of this, the landscape for the NCAA Championship Finals seems to be ever changing.

That is certainly evident this year on the eve of the 2011 NCAA Championship here at Karsten Creek Golf Club, home of the top-ranked and top-seeded Oklahoma State Cowboys.

Thanks to my friend Doug Tammaro of the Arizona State media relations department who enlightened me on some interesting notes about this year’s starting field.

Of the 30 teams that qualified for the NCAA finals last year at The Honors Course, only 16 of them are here this week at Karsten Creek with five of last year’s top 10 seeds (1. Oregon; 2, Stanford; 4, Washington; 6, Texas Tech; and 10, Florida State) sitting at home right now.

The seeded teams from the 2010 national championship who are also in this year’s field:

• 3. Oklahoma State. 5. Texas. 7. Texas A&M. 8. USC. 9. Augusta State. 12. UCLA. 13. Florida. 14. Georgia Tech. 18. San Diego. 19. California. 20. Arizona State. 23. Duke. 24. Tennessee. 27. Illinois. 28. LSU.

Now for the teams and their seeding from last year who failed to advance to the 2011 finals:

• 1. Oregon. 2. Stanford. 4. Washington. 6. Texas Tech. 10. Florida State. 11. Clemson. 15. UNLV. 17. TCU. 21. Oregon State. 22. North Florida. 25. Penn State. 26. Virginia. 29. Baylor. 30. Georgia Southern.

And the new kids in the 2011 championship who were on the outside looking in a year ago:

• Michigan, Alabama, Iowa, Oklahoma, Colorado State, Northwestern, Georgia, Kennesaw State, N.C. State, Arkansas, San Diego State, Pepperdine, Arizona and Ohio State.

Bottom line is there are a lot of quality golf programs out there all over the country. And at any given time, some of those just might be competing for a national championship.

Results For NCAA Division I National Golf Championship
1TXJohn PetersonFort Worth, TX150074-65-72--211
2CAPatrick CantlayLos Alamitos, CA100072-69-71--212
T3FLLion KimLake Mary, FL70072-70-73--215
T3WACameron PeckOlympia, WA70068-74-73--215
T3GAPatrick ReedAugusta, GA70069-75-71--215

View full results for NCAA Division I National Golf Championship

ABOUT THE NCAA Division I Championship

30 teams and 6 individuals not on a qualifying team make up the field for the championship of NCAA Division I women's golf.

After 72 holes of stroke play, the individual champion is crowned, and the low 8 teams advance to match play to determine the team champion.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube