Greensboro wins D-3 National Title

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Greensboro College shot a final round 2-over-par 290 and claimed its second Division III men’s national championship on Friday afternoon at the Grandover Resort.

Senior and Greensboro native Brock Elder fired a 5-under 67 and junior Ben Nihart negotiated the par-72 East Course in 1-under 71 on the final day to lead the home-standing Pride to its first title since 2000.

Centre College senior Chris Morris shot four sub-par rounds, including a 71 on Friday to edge 2010 champion Tain Lee of Claremont Mudd Scripps by four strokes in the medalist race. Morris, four shots behind Lee at the 2010 Championships, shot rounds of 67-65-71-71 for a 14-under 274 total that broke Lee’s D-III four-round record of 280 set last season.

On Friday, Morris, a native of Maysville, Ky., teed off on the back nine and took a triple bogey on the par-4 11th but responded with four birdies over his next seven holes to regain control of the individual race.

Lee, a junior, had rounds of 69-67-72-70

LaGrande College’s Hudson Keener shot a final round 68 and finished third at 9-under for the week. Texas Lutheran’s Ryan Kiel (8-under), Elder (3-under) and Redlands’ Jeremy Sanders (3-under) rounded out the top 5 individuals.

Greensboro, under second-year head coach Dirk Fennie, entered the final 18 holes with three-shot lead on defending champion Methodist and a six-shot advantage on Illinois Wesleyan, who eventually finished second by six shots. Methodist, first-round co-leader St. John’s and Texas Lutheran tied for third 13 shots behind The Pride.

ABOUT THE NCAA Division III Championship

72 hole championship of NCAA Division III men's college golf teams. Team (best four scores out of five players each round) and individual competitions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube