Governor's Cup- MS leads after 2nd match

MOUNTAIN HOME, Ark. (May 13, 2011) --Mississippi blew past Arkansas 8-2 in Foursomes and leads the 6th annual Governor’s Cup at Big Creek 12-8. The only wins for the Arkansas Team came from Bev Hargraves & Bruce Dickey and Justin Burns & Lyle Middleton. With 20 singles matches on Saturday, MS needs only 8 points and a tie to keep the Cup, 8 1/2 for the victory.

MS – Fred Brister & Mike Taylor defeated Marc Richardson & John Vinson 5-4; MS – Joey Landrum & Ray Sears defeated Robert Green & Glenn Hickey 1-up; MS – Greg Brooking & Tico Hoffman defeated Roger Clement & Ken Golden 6-5; AR – Bev Hargraves & Oscar Taylor defeated Brother Sandifer & Andrew Abide 2-1; MS – David Sellers & Stan Hall defeated Brian Allbright & Neal Westbrook 4-3; MS- Ricky Sims & Robert Willis defeated Bruce Dickey & Stan Lee 5-4; MS – Lee Gladden & Paul Loyacano defeated Tracy Harris & Trey Schaap 1-up; MS- Duke Simmons & Rickey Riley defeated Chris Jenkins & Wes McNulty 2-up; MS – T. Robert Oakley & Richard Reed defeated Efren Gonzalez & Mike Satterwhite 1-up; AR – Justin Burns & Lyle Middleton defeated Alan Ellis & Clay Homan 2-1.

Singles Matches begin at 8:00 a.m. Saturday.

ABOUT THE Arkansas-Mississippi Governor's Cup

Team matches between amateur teams representing the Arkansas and Mississippi state golf associations.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube