ASGA Four Ball: Nichols and Halsell Win
04 Apr 2011
see also: Arkansas Four-Ball Championship, Hot Springs Country Club


HOT SPRINGS, ARK. (April 3, 2011) -- Joey Nichols and J.C. Halsell, representing Pleasant Valley Country Club in Little Rock, won the 26th ASGA 4-Ball Championship at Hot Springs Country Club. The duo fired a six-under par 66 Saturday on the Arlington Course and five-under par 67 Sunday on the Park Course for an 11-under par total of 133. Winds Sunday were a steady 20 mph with gusts reaching 30-35 mph.

Two teams tied for second – Bev Hargraves of Helena and Bubba Klugh of Little Rock (68-66) & Efren Gonzalez and Allen Young (65-69), both of Bryant. First round leaders and defending champions Matt Feimster and Chris Dixon finished T8 with 64-72.

Halsell and Nichols were in a five-way tie for fifth after the first round while Hargraves and Klugh vaulted from T14 to T2. The low round Sunday went to Lyle Middleton and Richard Wrentz with a seven-under par 65. Chris Rogers scored a hole-in-one Sunday on #15, using a 5-iron from 187 yards.

ABOUT THE Arkansas Four-Ball

Players competing in this Championship are required to be current individual members of the Arkansas State Golf Association and a current member of a club or golf association that is also a member. the two players are not required to be a member of the same club or golf association. The Minimum age is 18, unless approved by the ASGA. Both players must have current ASGA-USGA Handicap indexes. Total team handicap cannot exceed 15 strokes. All scores will be gross score. The format is 36 holes of four-ball stroke play. Open and Senior divisions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube