Who will receive a coveted Kraft exemption?

by Beth Ann Baldry

Lorena Ochoa often talked about the 2002 Kraft Nabisco Championship, when she was paired with Annika Sorenstam during the third round. A sophomore at Arizona, Ochoa played that week courtesy of a coveted Kraft amateur exemption. It was a memorable experience for the eventual 2008 Kraft winner.

Last year, Kraft extended seven exemptions to amateurs across the country. Six of those players have since turned professional, leaving Auburn’s Cydney Clanton as the only possible amateur to return.

If Golfweek was handing out exemptions, we’d give a nod to the following standouts:

Doris Chen - 2010 U.S. Girls’ Junior champ; AJGA First-Team Rolex All-American

Cydney Clanton - Auburn standout, No. 2 in Golfweek/amateurgolf.com Women’s Rankings

Ariya Jutanugarn - No. 1 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Junior Rankings; Junior Orange Bowl champ

Danielle Kang - 2010 U.S. Women’s Amateur champ, No. 1 in Golfweek/amateurgolf.com Women’s Rankings

Megan McChrystal - LSU standout, No. 1 in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings

Lisa McCloskey - No. 3 in Golfweek/amateurgolf.com Women’s Rankings; No. 4 in college rankings; finalist at 2010 North & South Amateur and U.S. Women’s Amateur Public Links

Emily Tubert - 2010 U.S. Women’s Amateur Public Links champion

Results For ANA Inspiration Championship
T25ThailandAriya JutanugarnThailand80074-73-71-73--291

View full results for ANA Inspiration Championship

ABOUT THE ANA Inspiration

First women's professional major of the year, the ANA Inspiration (formerly the Kraft Nabisco) Championship draws more than 100 of the best women professional golfers in the world, as well as the top-ranked amateurs in the country.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube