Davis, Spinucci defend Georgia Women's Team Title
30 Sep 2010
see also: Georgia Women's Team Championship, Barnsley Gardens Resort


SAVANNAH, Ga. (Sept. 30, 2010) -- With a final-round score of 69, Danielle Davis of St. Simons Island and Ginette Spinucci of Stone Mountain held on to their first-round lead and successfully defended their title with a 2-under-par total of 142 at the 25th Georgia Women’s Team Championship, which took place September 29-30 at The Club at Savannah Harbor.

Jane Duggan of Atlanta and Sydney Dunning of Marietta, who trailed the leaders by three shots after the opening day, fired a tournament-low 68 in the final round – which was a scramble format – but finished as runners-up by two strokes. The 2009 runners-up, Cheryl Grigg of Sea Island and Darlene Werhnyak of Lawrenceville, remained in third place at 5-over 149 with a final-round 72.

Spinucci, also a former GSGA Senior Women’s Champion, captures her fifth Women’s Team title in the last six years. She ties Lee Burton with the most victories in this event. Spinucci won two straight with Marilyn Nolan-Johnson in 2005 and ’06, and with Brenda Pictor in 2008. Davis notches her third Women’s Team win, her first occurring with Maria Johnson in 2004.

Deb Jackson of Johns Creek and Suzanne Murray of Roswell held on to their first-round lead to win the first flight (146). Suzie Tindall and Susan Tucker, both of Atlanta, shared second-flight honors with Kaye Lewis of Hartwell and Lurisa Waldron of Lavonia (156). Barbara Edstrom of Norcross and Jayne Appling of Alpharetta tied with Joye Marshall of Bonaire anad Patricia Smith of Warner Robins in the third (161), while Bonnie Beene and Jean Edge, both of Warner Robins, won the fourth (171). Brenda Evans of Ft. Valley and Darla Stahl of Kathleen maintained their lead to win the fifth flight (171).

ABOUT THE Georgia Women's Team

Entries: Open to two-person teams of female amateur golfers who have a maximum handicap differential of eight strokes. Must be 18 years old as of the first day of the tournament.

Field: 60-80 teams - players may elect to compete in the Championship Grodd Division or the Net Division; up to 10 teams will comprise the Championship Division.

Format: Round One - 18 holes of four-ball gross stroke play for Championship flight and four-ball net stroke play for remaining flights; Round Two - scramble format

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube