Illinois State (CDGA) Amateur Championship

LEMONT, IL (Wednesday, August 3, 2005) -- The 75th Illinois State Amateur Championship will field 132 of the state’s leading amateurs, including Chris Bouchard (Zion), Brian Carroll (Crystal Lake), Brad Marek (Arlington Heights) and Todd Mitchell (Bloomington) at Crestwicke Country Club in Bloomington, Ill. Tuesday, August 9-Thursday, August, 11.

“This year we have one of the strongest fields in the history of the State Am,” said Jodi Smallenberger CDGA director of rules and competitions. “Four 2005 USGA championship competitors and three past State Am champions are in the field.” U.S. Amateur Championship qualifiers this year include Carroll, the 2005 CDGA Amateur champion; Mitchell, two-time State Am champion (2002-2003) and Bouchard. Carroll and Marek played in the U.S. Amateur Public Links Championship, and Marek made it to the quarterfinals.

Past State Am champions competing at Crestwicke include Mitchell, Mike McLoone of Arlington Heights (2000) and Mike Mortell of Burr Ridge (1990). For 75 years the CDGA has conducted the Illinois State Am, the state’s most prestigious amateur event. The championship consists of two days of stroke play, with the low 30 scores and ties and any golfer within 10 strokes of the leader advancing to the final 36 holes on Thursday, August 11.

History proves the Illinois State Am is a solid testing ground as several past winners have gone on to play professionally: Roy Biancalana (1983), Erik Ciotti (1997), Rich Dukelow (2001), Jim Jamieson (1967), Gary Hallberg (1978, 1979), Mark Hensby (1994), David Ogrin (1980), D.A. Points (1995, 1998, 1999) and Robert Zender (1967, 1970, 1971).

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube