Shocker Golfers Lift Kansas To Fore State Title

REEDS SPRING, Mo. (August 5, 2010) - Two current Wichita State University women's golfers and an assistant coach led the state of Kansas to the 2010 Fore State Women's Team Championship at Ledgestone Country Club. It was the first title in 16 years for Kansas.

Current Shockers Adin Stromgren, an incoming senior, and Hannah Martin, an incoming sophomore, and assistant coach Krista Hrdlicka all contributed to the one-point, match play victory. Kansas collected 13 ½ total points, with the Shocker trio combining for five of those points. Arkansas finished second with 12 ½ points.

The Fore State Championship is a tournament built with the top amateur players from Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Arkansas.

Stromgren and Martin paired up to win both matches on Monday. Hrdlicka's pairing took Monday's afternoon match and halved Tuesday's match.

Hrdlicka joined the Shockers coaching staff in May after competing at WSU from 2005 to 2009. She was an All-MVC performer in 2008. Stromgren and Martin each placed in the top 25 at the 2010 State Farm Missouri Valley Conference Championship.

ABOUT THE Fore State Team Championship

The Fore State Team Championship was established in 1995 to promote a friendly rivalry among amateur women golfers from the four border states of Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma. The competition is held annually in August with each state taking their turn to host the event.

Four-ball matches are followed by foursomes (alternate shot) matches and singles.

Six of every Fore State Teams player’s shall be designated as Amateur players who will be age 39 or less by July 14 of the Championship year. Another six players 40+ by July 14 of the Championship year shall be designated as the Mid-Amateur Division.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube