Pinckney Beats Tway in Trans-Miss Playoff

DENVER, CO (July 15, 2010)--Scott Pinckney, a senior to-be on the Arizona State University golf team, defeated Oklahoma State golfer Kevin Tway on the second playoff hole to win the 107th Trans-Mississippi Championship at Denver Country Club.

In the Senior Division, Reading, PA, native Chip Lutz won by one shot over Bob Burton, Everett, WA and Jerry Greenbaum of Atlanta.

The Trans-Mississippi Championship changed its format for 2010, moving to stroke play after being contested at match play for 106 years. The minimum age for the championship division was also lowered from 25 to 19 after being restricted to mid-amateurs since 1987. The result was a much stronger field and the hope for increased stature in the world of amateur golf.

Results For Trans-Mississippi Championship
1AZScott PinckneyScottsdale, AZ70069-66-69--204*
2OKKevin TwayEdmond, OK50069-68-67--204
T3NVJared BecherReno, NV40070-69-66--205
T3CAMax HomaValencia, CA40069-65-71--205
5PAAmory DavisChadds Ford, PA40068-66-73--207

View full results for Trans-Mississippi Championship

ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Championship

The Trans-Miss is one of the oldest and most storied golf tournaments in the United States. For 106 years the championship was played in a match play format. Past champions include Jack Nicklaus (1958 and 1959), Charles Coe (1947, 1949, 1952 and 1956), Deane Beman (1960), George Archer (1963), Ben Crenshaw (1972), Gary Koch (1973), Bob Tway (1978), Mark Brooks (1978) and other professional tour notables. In 1987 the championship was changed to a mid- amateur age requirement, and a senior division was also added. Starting in 2010, the Trans- Mississippi Championship, returned to its roots as an open amateur tournament, and immediately established itself as a "must-play" among top collegiate and mid-am players, while changing to a 72-hole stroke play format. The field size starrts at 144 players from Trans- Mississippi Golf Association member clubs (or players receiving a special invitation from the Championship Committee). After 36 holes, a cut is made to the low 54 and ties who play the final two rounds.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube