Horseshoe Bay Invite: Cristea, Cahill win titles

HORSESHOE BAY, Texas (May 16, 2010) -- Nick Cristea won on the third hole of a suddden-death playoff with first round leader Tayler Termeer to take the overall title at the Horseshoe Bay Invitational, an amateurgolf.com Texas Player Rankings event. Termeer hit his tee shot on the third playoff hole left and wound up out of bounds.

On Saturday, Termeer had a sizzling back nine of 30 which led to a round of 66, good for the first round lead by 2 shots over Scott Speer (68). But it was Cristea who took charge in the final round, his 70 was the low round of the second day on Ram Rock and allowed him to catch Termeer.

In the Senior Division, which also wound up tied in regulation, Horseshoe Bay Member Dennis Cahill birdied the second hole of a sudden-death playoff to beat fellow Horseshoe Bay Member Aaron Billings.

Dennis played very consistent with a 74 on Saturday at Slick Rock and another 74 Sunday on Ram Rock. Billings shot the low round in the 2nd round with a 72 which enabled him to get into the playoff.

Recap submitted by Jesse Horner, PGA

ABOUT THE Horseshoe Bay Invitational

36 hole stroke play invitational held at the Ram Rock and Apple Rock courses at the Horseshoe Bay Resort. The tournament has an Open division and a Senior division for players aged 50 and older.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube