Albertsson wins Richardson Memorial

On Saturday, May 8th, LIGA Stoddard Trophy team member in 2009 Hans Albertsson of Bethpage SP defeated Trevor Sahn of St. Andrews GC by a score of 3 & 2 to win the 62nd annual Richardson Invitational Championship at the Seawane Club in Hewlett Harbor.

In the Senior Masters Division, 2009 LIGA Senior Amateur Champion Douglas Vergith of St. Georges G & CC defeated 2009 Westchester GA Senior Player of the Year Jim Graham of Winged Foot GC by a score of 1 up to win the division.

Earlier Saturday, in the semifinal matches in the Championship Division, Albertsson defeated former LI Amateur Champion and LIGA Stoddard Trophy team member Adam Pecora of Brookville CC by a score of 6 & 5, and Sahn defeated first day medalist and former three-time LIGA Player of the Year Joe Saladino of Huntington CC by a score of 2 & 1 to set up the final match.

- story courtesy Long Island G.A.

ABOUT THE Richardson Memorial

Event honors William Richardson, legendary New York Times golf writer. Regional field plays on a Devereaux Emmet golf course that has been restored to his original vision. 18 hole qualifier establishes match play brackets.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube