Tallent and Decker win National Senior Junior

JUPITER, Fla. – The Virginia team of Pat Tallent, Vienna, and Keith Decker, Martinsville, completed a wire-to-wire performance Thursday at The Dye Preserve to win the National Senior-Junior Amateur Team Championship for the second straight year.

A final round scramble score of 10 under par 62 gave Tallent and Decker a two-stroke margin of victory at 197. That was two strokes higher than their winning score of 195 here last year.

“We had to play hard today, especially on the back nine because Vinny (Giles) and Trip (Kuehne) were shooting a 30,” Tallent said. The winners also closed with 30. They opened with 67, four-ball stroke play, and added an alternate shots score of 68 to move ahead Wednesday. They made 21 birdies in 54 holes, 10 on Thursday, with single bogeys the first and second days.

Giles, of Richmond, Va., and Kuehne, of Dallas, Texas, tied for the first round lead, then added 69-63 for 199. Giles and Kuehne won two years ago at 196. Giles has won the Senior-Junior four times, once as a junior, with four different partners.

The only other team to win the 20-year-old tournament twice, also two years in a row, was Steve Earsley of Hobe Sound and Mike Nealy of Boca Raton in 2004-05.

In the Legends division in which one member of the team is at least 65 years old, the winners were Mark Mulvoy of Rye, N.Y., and David Brookerson of Huntingdon Valley, Pa., scoring 71-73-65—209. They also led after each round and won by six.


National Senior-Junior Amateur Team Championship The Dye Preserve, Jupiter, Fla. (Seniors, 50-older, 6,600 yards, and juniors, 25-49, 6,800 yards; First round, four-ball stroke play, second round, modified alternate shots, third round, scramble)

Champions Pat Tallent-Keith Decker 67-68-62—197 Vinny Giles-Trip Kuehne 67-69-63—199 George Marucci-Mike McCoy 69-72-60—201 Joe Marx-Joe Gullion 68-69-64—201 Alan Fadel-Rob Gerwin 69-71-63—203 Duke Delcher-Jay McKnight 71-71-63—205 Bob Levy-Tim Hume 69-71-67—207 Norman Swenson-Justin Livonius 68-71-68—207 Jim Graham-Greg Rohlf 71-74-63—208 Skip Runnels-Gordon Rees 73-71-64—208

Legends Mark Mulvoy-David Brookerson 71-73-65—209 Fred Cox-John Pinkham 72-75-68—215 John Martin-Jerry Nelson 76-75-68—219 Robert Housen-Christopher Housen 76-74-69—219

ABOUT THE National Senior Junior

Mid Amateur, Senior Amateur. Unique 54 hole stroke play invitational features a "junior" (mid am) and a senior. There is also a Legends division that pairs legends and super seniors. Started in 1991 by some Society of Seniors members. Played on a wonderful course re-done by Pete Dye. Best Ball Format Round 1 – Pinehurst Format Round 2 – Scramble Format Round 3.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube