Main wins Southern Am, qualifies for Arnold Palmer Invitational
18 Jul 2009
by AmateurGolf.com Staff

see also: Olde Stone Golf Club


CORDOVA , TN (July 18, 2009) -- Prior to this weekend, UCLA sophomore golfer Gregor Main listed his career high as making the cut in the PGA Tour Buick Open at Torrey Pines in February. “But this is definitely bigger,” Main said after winning the 103rd Southern Amateur Championship Saturday at Colonial Country Club. “Getting a ‘W’ in a big tournament like this is much bigger.”

Main , 20, the Pac-10 Freshman golfer of the year from Danville CA , posted a solid final round 70 for a 16-under-par 272 total and two-stroke margin over runnerup Taylor Hall of LaGrange GA. Hall had shared the lead with six holes to play, but his double-bogey 6 at the 14th hole left Main with a clear run at the title.

Overnight co-leader Mark Silvers could manage only an even-par 72 and was among a trio four shots back tied for third.

The victory earned Main an exemption to play in the PGA Tour’s Arnold Palmer Invitational, which awards a berth to the Southern Am winner each year. “I’m truly excited about that. A chance to play in my second Tour event is awesome,” he said.

The 104th Southern Am will be played at Shoal Creek in Birmingham next July.

ABOUT THE Southern Amateur

The Southern Amateur, which dates back to 1902, is one of two competitions held by the Southern Golf Association. (The other is the Southern Junior.) Its champions roster is like a who’s who’s of competitive golf. (And the same could be said of the standing of its host clubs.) Leading this group is Robert T. (Bobby) Jones, Jr., who was the Southern Amateur Champion in 1917, 1920, and 1922. Others who have won or finished in a challenging position and gone on to national and/or international prominence include Tommy Barnes, Dale Morey, Don January, Gay Brewer, Doug Sanders, Billy Joe Patton, Lew Oehmig, Hubert Green, Downing Gray, Marvin (Vinny) Giles, Lanny Wadkins, Steve Melnyk, Tom Kite, John Mahaffey, Ben Crenshaw, Gary Koch, Bill Rogers, Gil Morgan, Danny Edwards, Andy Bean, Vance Haefner, Jerry Pate, Chip Beck, David Edwards, Jay Sigel, Bob Tway, Mark Brooks, Gene Sauers, Davis Love, Justin Leonard and more recently PGA Tour standouts Webb Simpson and Kyle Stanley, who won twice each between 2005 and 2008 in alternate years.

View Complete Tournament Information

Results For Southern Amateur Golf Championship
1CAGregor MainDanville, CA100067-67-68-70--272
2GATaylor HallLaGrange, GA70068-69-65-72--274
T3AustraliaTarquin MacManusAustralia50070-68-71-67--276
T3TXBronson BurgoonThe Woodlands, TX50069-70-68-69--276
T3GAMark SilversSavannah, GA50068-66-70-72--276

View full results for Southern Amateur Golf Championship

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube