Kessler Wins Trans-Miss at Flint Hills

ANDOVER, KS (June 28, 2009)--Chris Kessler of Scottsdale, AZ defeated Mark Healer of Gatesville, TX on the 19th hole to win the 106th Trans-Mississippi Championship at Flint Hills National Golf Club in Andover, KS.

In the Senior Division, Jerry Greenbaum of Atlanta, GA scored a 4 and 3 win over Billy McBee III of Dallas, TX.

The Trans-Mississippi Championship is open to male amateur golfers with an official USGA handicap not exceeding 5.4 under the USGA Golf Handicap System and are members of Trans-Mississippi Member Clubs. The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association reserves the right to issue special invitations to the tournament to amateur players of national and international reputation who meet the age restrictions for both the Championship and Senior Fields.

Next year's championship is scheduled for July 12-15 at Denver Country Club in Denver, CO.

Top finishers at this year's championship appear below.

Results For Trans-Mississippi Championship
WinAZChris KesslerScottsdale, AZ300
Runner-upTXMark HealerGatesville, TX200
SemifinalsILStephen DalyWheaton, IL100
SemifinalsKSBryan NortonMission Hills, KS100
QuarterfinalsKSMichael HollowayWichita, KS50

View full results for Trans-Mississippi Championship

ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Championship

The Trans-Miss is one of the oldest and most storied golf tournaments in the United States. For 106 years the championship was played in a match play format. Past champions include Jack Nicklaus (1958 and 1959), Charles Coe (1947, 1949, 1952 and 1956), Deane Beman (1960), George Archer (1963), Ben Crenshaw (1972), Gary Koch (1973), Bob Tway (1978), Mark Brooks (1978) and other professional tour notables. In 1987 the championship was changed to a mid- amateur age requirement, and a senior division was also added. Starting in 2010, the Trans- Mississippi Championship, returned to its roots as an open amateur tournament, and immediately established itself as a "must-play" among top collegiate and mid-am players, while changing to a 72-hole stroke play format. The field size starrts at 144 players from Trans- Mississippi Golf Association member clubs (or players receiving a special invitation from the Championship Committee). After 36 holes, a cut is made to the low 54 and ties who play the final two rounds.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube