California High School Championships

PEBBLE BEACH, CA (June 10, 2009)--La Costa Canyon HS and Kevin Dougherty tamed Poppy Hills today, adding CIF/CGA Boys’ State Championship team and individual titles to their name.

The La Costa Canyon HS team of Kramer La Plante, Niklas Moeller, Danny Angelucci, Tervor Simsby, Jordan Epstein and Steven Kearney fired a team score of 21-over-par 381 to capture the State Championship by five strokes. Boostered by four scores in the 70s, the Southern California team edged out runner-up Jesuit HS of Carmichael.

“It was a super team effort and has been all year long,” commented Costa La Canyon Coach Steve Armstrong after the round. The team were hot off a win at the CIF Southern California HS Champs and made it a double with the team title on the challenging Poppy Hills layout. “We go into every year thinking we are in the hunt,” said Armstrong, who is in his 33rd year as coach of the Carlsbad school team.

Jesuit’s Johnathan Byers, Cameron Skreden, Ryan Irish, Harrison Murk, Christopher Macasaet and John Catlin fired a team score of 26-over-par 386, while Westlake HS claimed third at 388.

In what turned out to be a nailbiting three-way playoff for the individual title, Vista Murrieta’s Kevin Dougherty triumphed with a par on the 18th hole. The 18-year-old tied at two-under-par 70 along with Cole Seeger of Westlake and Michael Weaver of Clovis West. Weaver, playing as an individual, went on to take second, while Seeger placed in third. “You’ve got to hit it straight out here,” said Dougherty, who eagled the par-5 No. 9 after hitting a four iron to 12-feet from the hole. The high school senior then chipped in for birdie on the par-4 14th and rolled in a putt on hole 15 for back-to-back birdies. Dougherty shot a 66 at the CIF Southern California HS Champs at CGA Golf Course and suceeded in a playoff there as well. The Murietta resident is off to OSU in the Fall and the win also earns him an exemption into the upcoming California State Amateur at Lake Merced.

Individual Results

Kevin Dougherty (i), Vista Murrieta - 35-35–70 1st Place
Michael Weaver (i), Clovis West - 36-34–70 2nd Place
Cole Seeger, Westlake - 35-35–70 3rd Place
Luke Vivolo, Carmel - 35-37–72
John Catlin, Jesuit - 34-38–72
Jake Katz, Westlake - 36-38–74
Niklas Moeller, La Costa Canyon - 37-37–74
Trevor Simsby, La Costa Canyon - 35-39–74
Bryan Bergna (i), Poly Riverside - 38-36–74
Alex Bungert (i), Villa Park - 35-39–74
Nick Thomas (i), Chaminade - 37-37–74
Chris Gregus, Cardinal Newman - 36-38–74
Ryan Irish, Jesuit - 36-38–74
Doug Head, Great Oak - 37-38–75
Jordan Epstein, La Costa Canyon - 38-37–75
Alex Reno, Cardinal Newman - 41-34–75
Kurt Kitayama (i), Chico - 38-38–76
Mark Leong (i), De La Salle - 38-38–76
Jessie Stephens (i), Pleasant Valley - 39-37–76
Kevin Ruby, Great Oak - 37-40–77
Matthew Jun, Great Oak - 40-37–77
Martin Trainer (i), Gunn - 40-37–77
Alex Revelle, Cardinal Newman - 38-39–77
Kraig McLeod, Carmel - 34-43–77
Cameron Skreden, Jesuit - 40-37–77
Kramer La Plante, La Costa Canyon - 37-41–78
Nick Sako (i), Menlo-Atherton - 38-40–78
Harrison J Murk, Jesuit - 36-42–78
Jared Hentila, Great Oak - 40-39–79
Steven Kearney, La Costa Canyon - 42-38–80
Corey Robello, Cardinal Newman - 37-43–80
Oliver Jegat, Carmel - 38-42–80
Marshall Colby, Westlake - 37-44–81
Brandon Hagy, Westlake - 42-39–81
Sejun Yoon (i), Rancho Buena Vista - 41-40–81
Matthew Ogden (i), Palma - 38-43–81
Mickey Mahoney, Carmel - 39-42–81
Alex Forss, Great Oak - 42-40–82
Justin Edwards, Westlake - 40-42–82
Alex Johnson, Cardinal Newman - 45-38–83
Danny Angelucci, La Costa Canyon - 40-44–84
Tommy Lozon, Great Oak - 42-43–85
Charlie Welch, Cardinal Newman - 39-46–85
Christopher R Macasaet, Jesuit - 40-45–85
Colton Bollinger, Carmel - 40-46–86
Johnathan A Byers, Jesuit - 51-36–87
Christopher Jasper, Carmel - 43-45–88
Chris Doyle, Westlake - 41-49–90

Team Results

381 - La Costa Canyon
Niklas Moeller
Trevor Simsby
Jordan Epstein
Kramer La Plante
Steven Kearney
Danny Angelucci

386 - Jesuit
Ryan Irish
Cameron Skreden
John Catlin
Harrison J Murk
Johnathan A Byers
Christopher R Macasaet

388 - Westlake
Cole Seeger
Jake Katz
Marshall Colby
Brandon Hagy
Justin Edwards
Chris Doyle

389 - Cardinal Newman
Alex Revelle
Chris Gregus
Alex Reno
Corey Robello
Alex Johnson
Charlie Welch

390 - Great Oak
Doug Head
Kevin Ruby
Matthew Jun
Jared Hentila
Alex Forss
Tommy Lozon

396 - Carmel
Luke Vivolo
Kraig McLeod
Oliver Jegat
Mickey Mahoney
Colton Bollinger
Christopher Jasper

ABOUT THE California High School Boys

The California Interscholastic Federation is divided into four districts, and each provides contestants in the events based on district student population. The State Championship is a one-day event run by the NCGA and SCGA, with teams and individual students competing in 18 holes of stroke play. The top six individuals and top three teams of each region (Northern and Southern) advance to the State Championship, which rotates each year between Northern and Southern sites.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube