Oregon PubLinks: Sawyer Defends Title

FLORENCE, OR (June 7, 2009)--Skies cleared, winds calmed and temperatures rose making Sandpines Golf Links ripe for the taking at the 12th Oregon Public Links Championship.

In the Women's Division, only Brie (Del Bone) Stone, 29, of Veneta, Ore. took advantage of the opportunity that presented itself shooting a 2-over par 73-73--146 on the 5,726-yard, par-72 Sandpines layout to run away with the title by 9-strokes over Sarah Taylor of Vancouver, Wash. who was awarded the Net crown.

Stone, a former golf professional at Emerald Valley has been concentrating her time raising a family and hasn't played much competitive golf recently.

Success in golf, however, is familiar territory. A graduate of Sheldon High School in Eugene, Stone won the Oregon Junior Amateur title in 1997. While playing for Oregon State, she also captured the Oregon Women's Stroke Play titles in 1999 and 2001.

The method of this victory might have been somewhat different change of pace. Her Junior Amateur title required a birdie on the final hole, and her 1999 Stroke Play title came in a sudden-death playoff.

The scoring was significantly different in the Men's Division as the field improved their first round scores on average more than three strokes.

In a style comparable to Tiger Wood's come-from-behind victory at The Memorial, defending Champion Chad Sawyer of West Linn, Ore. improved his first round score by 8-strokes, posting a 4-under par 74-66--140 to defeat first round leader Brandon Taylor by 3-strokes on the 6,859 Yard course.

"This is fun," noted Sawyer, who like Stone, also played at Oregon State. He added, "I took a couple years off of competitive golf after completing my collegiate career, and it's great to be enjoying golf again." Sawyer also noted that he completed the tournament without a bogey in his final 28-holes and was 5-under par in his closing 9-holes.

Sawyer, a scratch golfer, had the lowest Net score among golfers, but was ineligible by virtue of winning the overall title. The Net award was awarded to Dain Pape of Mt. Shasta, Calif.

First established in 1998, the Public Links Championship is a 36-hole gross and net stroke play competition open to both Men and Women amateur golfers with USGA Handicap Indexes of 36.4 or less (for Men) and 40.4 or less (for Women). only open to those members of the Oregon Golf Association who have been bona fide public course players and have not held a membership at any course that does not extend playing privileges to the general public. The majority of OGA members come from regular public clubs (those based at golf courses) or from Associate Clubs formed by churches, companies, social clubs and more.

The Public Links also boasts an interesting tradition as numerous titleholders have either held or pursued professional golf careers. AMong those with professional ties are Men's Champions, Adam Hagen ('03, '05, '07), Ian Hagen ('02), Ryan Fery ('04) and Mike Debruyn ('06), and; Women's Champions Karla Kalian ('98), Julie Wells ('01), Elizabeth Regan ('07), Rebecca Kim ('06) and Taya Battistella ('00).

MENS DIVISION - Par 72, 6,859 Yards

1 Chad Sawyer West Linn, Ore. 74-66--140 -4
2 Brandon Taylor Corvallis, Ore. 71-72--143 -1
T3 Chris Polski Eugene, Ore. 76-70--146 +2
T3 Tim Tucker Coos Bay, Ore. 73-73--146 +2
5 Marcus Potter Tigard, Ore. 77-71--148 +4
T6 Christian Boudreau Beaverton, Ore. 74-75--149 +5
T6 Kevin Beavers Portland, Ore. 74-75--149 +5
8 Matthew Schuth Dexter, Ore. 74-76--150 +6
9 Ted Whitney Eugene, Ore. 80-71--151 +7
T10 Casey King Blue River, Ore. 80-72--152 +8
T10 Mathew Rademacher Gladstone, Ore. 76-76--152 +8
T12 Sean Free Sublimity, Ore. 80-73--153 +9
T12 Tyler Morse Eugene, Ore. 80-73--153 +9
T12 Dain Pape Mt. Shasta, Calif. 80-73--153 +9
T12 Nic Polski Eugene, Ore. 77-76--153 +9
T16 Spencer Crawford Beaverton, Ore. 80-74--154 +10
T16 Chris Satterwhite Portland, Ore. 79-75--154 +10
T18 Jesse Schutte Florence, Ore. 83-72--155 +11
T18 Arthur Kim Tigard, Ore. 81-74--155 +11
T18 Alex Gruber Eugene, Ore. 79-76--155 +11
T18 Tom Greller Portland, Ore. 78-77--155 +11
T18 Spencer Provow Portland, Ore. 76-79--155 +11
T23 Jason Wood Portland, Ore. 83-73--156 +12
T23 Chad Rusek Portland, Ore. 77-79--156 +12
T23 Matt Klenz Tualatin, Ore. 75-81--156 +12
26 Justin Kadin Corvallis, Ore. 80-77--157 +13
27 Don Baer Salem, Ore. 81-77--158 +14
T28 Blake Fedderson Corvallis, Ore. 82-77--159 +15
T28 Billy Anderson Eugene, Ore. 79-80--159 +15
30 Lee Buffington Roseburg, Ore. 82-78--160 +16
31 Kim Wenger Eugene, Ore. 81-80--161 +17
32 Alan Minor Aloha, Ore. 83-79--162 +18
T33 Andrew Hinkle Portland, Ore. 85-78--163 +19
T33 Timothy Amburn Harrisburg, Ore. 83-80--163 +19
35 Marc Goodell Vancouver, Wash. 86-78--164 +20
T36 Douglas Smith Beaverton, Ore. 90-77--167 +23
T36 Min Matsumoto Tigard, Ore. 88-79--167 +23
T36 Kim Friese Westlake, Ore. 82-85--167 +23
T39 Alex Kang Tigard, Ore. 90-78--168 +24
T39 Larry Rose Portland, Ore. 86-82--168 +24
41 Ben Janes Corvallis, Ore. 83-86--169 +25
42 Carl Wheeler Medford, Ore. 91-79--170 +26
43 John Minor Forest Grove, Ore. 91-81--172 +28
T44 John Smart Merlin, Ore. 87-86--173 +29
T44 Bryan Paligo Redmon, Ore. 84-89--173 +29
46 Larry Emerson Wilsonville, Ore. 86-88--174 +30
T47 Earl Hunter Salem, Ore. 89-86--175 +31
T47 Brian O'Connell Portland, Ore. 86-89--175 +31
49 Richard Kelps Portland, Ore. 87-89--176 +32
T50 Hank Scharringhausen Gresham, Ore. 92-86--178 +34
T50 Jack Smrekar Florence, Ore. 92-86--178 +34
T50 Arturo Sanchez Tigard, Ore. 89-89--178 +34
T50 Patrick Andrade Bend, Ore. 88-90--178 +34
54 John Rose Vancouver, Wash. 89-90--179 +35
T55 Steve Whitehurst Eugene, Ore. 93-87--180 +36
T55 Erik Greenway Portland, Ore. 88-92--180 +36
57 Jesse Lehman Beaverton, Ore. 90-93--183 +39
58 Aaron Harris Beaverton, Ore. 98-87--185 +41
59 David Scharringhausen Portland, Ore. 100-87--187 +43
60 Fenn Bourland Portland, Ore. 84-107--191 +47
T61 Brian Dees Hillsboro, Ore. 101-91--192 +48
T61 Don Clark Klamath, Ore. 94-98--192 +48
63 Eric Jozwiak Aloha, Ore. 99-96--195 +51
64 Michael Pearson Florence, Ore. 111-89--200 +56
65 Rich Way Waldport, Ore. 106-99--205 +61
T66 Donald Beaton Florence, Ore. 109-98--207 +63
T66 Kevin Higgins Beaverton, Ore. 104-103--207 +63
68 Kevin Brinkley Portland, Ore. 105-111--216 +72

WOMENS DIVISION - Par 72, 5,726 Yards

1 Brie Stone Veneta, Ore. 73-73--146 +2
2 Sarah Taylor Vancouver, Wash. 75-80--155 +11
3 Sharon Shin West Linn, Ore. 76-81--157 +13
4 Lindsay Aho Brush Prairie, Wash. 77-82--159 +15
5 Corinne Corey Albany, Ore. 79-82--161 +17
6 Donna Olexio-Smoot Beaverton, Ore. 81-82--163 +19
7 Chelsey Lind Bend, Ore. 82-86--168 +24
T8 Heather Holte Walterville, Ore. 84-90--174 +30
T8 Sandra Jefferies Hood River, Ore. 93-81--174 +30
10 D'nise Minor Aloha, Ore. 94-88--182 +38
11 Gwen Friece Westlake, Ore. 98-96--194 +50
12 Jenny Minor Forest Grove, Ore. 105-92--197 +53
13 Nancy Pearson Florence, Ore. 105-110--215 +71

ABOUT THE Oregon Public Links

Entries are open to amateur golfers who, since the start of the calendar year, have been bona fide public course players and have not held a membership at any course which does not extend playing privileges to the general public or membership with any private club maintaining its own course. Entries in the Men’s Division is limited to golfers with USGA Handicap Indexes of 36.4 and less. Entries in the Women’s Division is limited to golfers who are female with USGA Handicap Indexes of 40.4 and less.

36-hole stroke play competition. Gross and Net prizes will be awarded to top finishers in each flight. Players have their choice of entering either the “Championship” or “Open” flights.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube