Hometown Favorites Win Florida Two-Man

VERO BEACH, FL (May 17, 2009)--Home-town favorites Bill Mallon and Bobby Bird captured the overall title at the Two-Man Shoot-Out at Grand Harbor Golf and Beach Club in Vero Beach on May 16th-17th.

John and Joseph Latowski of Port Saint Lucie won the first round of the competition which was played using an alternate-shot format. The Latowskis fashioned a 3-under par 68 to lead a closely matched field that featured nine teams that scored even par or better in the first round.

In the second round, played as a two-man scramble, Mallon and Bird went on a birdie rampage, carding a 9-under par 63 to lead the round along with Clayton Brewer and Chris Fierbaugh who also logged a 63. The third and final round was played as a four-ball (best ball of two) and Mallon and Bird again led the field by firing a 66 for a combined three-round total of 200, 15-under par.

Eduardo Chavez and Sam Chavez, of Coral Gables claimed second place with a tournament total of 204. The South Florida team posted rounds of 69-67-68. In a tie for third place, the team of Andrew Kennedy and Brad Schmidt, from Tampa, and Sterling Searcy and Phillip Theiss, from Fort Pierce and Winter Garden, each recorded a 205 total.

Final results of the Florida Two-Man Shootout, played May 15-17, 2009 at Grand Harbor Golf and Beach Club in Vero Beach:

RD. 1 – Modified Alternate Shot – Harbor Course
RD. 2 – Captain’s Choice – River Course
RD. 3 – Four-Ball – River Course


Bobby Bird / William Mallon 71-63-66--200
Eduardo Chavez / Sam Chavez 69-67-68--204
Andrew Kennedy / Brad Schmidt 72-64-69--205
Sterling Searcy / Phillip Theiss 69-66-70--205
Jackson Beindorf / Chris Piumelli 71-67-68--206
John Latowski / Joseph Latowski 68-67-71--206
Michael Muller / Scott Tolliver 71-68-68--207
Jim Byington / Randy Elliott 73-64-73--210
Lindsay Dolamore / John Duval 71-66-73--210
Matt Anderson / James Weick 72-67-71--210
Clayton Brewer / Chris Fierbaugh 74-63-74--211
Joel Benes / Craig Savage 72-65-75--212
Milko Brito / George Heider 71-69-72--212
Scott Jacobs / Pete Prygelski 72-67-73--212

First Flight

Ladd Aliff / Michael Hauser 77-64-67--208
Samuel Martinez / Jose Novo 72-69-69--210
Bill Griffith / Marc Rosenbaum 71-70-70--211
Dave Marshman / Rokki Rogan 73-70-71--214
Steve Hall / Cory Walker 72-70-72--214
Marais Lombard / Stephen Davey 74-68-73--215
Russell Mann / Robert Noe 78-67-71--216
Steve Albritton / Brad Rolland 75-70-71--216
Chris Hatfield / Scott Wilson 75-71-71--217
Harvey Eber / Jim Ross 78-67-72--217
Jason Camp / Keith Martin 77-66-76--219
Nicholas Coon / Erik Gustafson 74-70-75--219
Pete Andrews / David McShera 72-71-76--219
Charlie Hendrick / Tom Hendrick 80-65-77--222
Tim Fields / Jason Snodgrass 78-69-75--222

Second Flight

Andy Green / Darin Green 78-70-72--220
Ben Finley / Robert Hall 80-68-73--221
Brad Myers / Douglas Wiley 74-74-73--221
Sergio Echeverria / Gregg Hunsberger 78-70-74--222
Mark Adams / Ed Trinidad 82-72-71--225
Danny Bulso / Jeff Magaditsch 76-75-75--226
Luke Korner / Kyle Thomas 78-73-75--226
David Kuffner / Kurt Murphy 81-70-76--227
Gary Onorati / Peter Onorati 81-74-73--228
Morgan Bays / Michael Frederick 79-73-76--228
David DeSantis / Jason Hise 77-76-78--231
Don Hill / Larry Martineau 82-71-78--231
Roger McQueen / Aaron Skoviera 79-71-81--231
Don Bailey / Scoty Parsons 84-73-77--234
Nick Chiantese / Tommy Monahan 84-73-77--234
Matt Gilbert / Dan Kaelin 91-79-78--248
Charlie Taylor / Charles Taylor 85-80-84--249

ABOUT THE Florida Two-Man Shootout

The Two-Man Shoot-Out is a unique Championship combining modified alternate shot, two-man scramble and four-ball formats. Each round is considered a separate competition with prizes being awarded for each, as well as an overall winner for the Championship.

Open to male amateur golfers. One entrant must be at least 16 years of age as of the first day of the Championship, and both entrants must be FSGA members.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube