Memorial Park Survives at Texas State Club Team

Texas Golf Association report from the State Club Team Championship

HORSESHOE BAY, Texas (April 5, 2009)--Memorial Park Golf Course in Houston assembled a trio of TCU alumni to win the 2009 State Club Team title. David Leiss (class of ’80), Aaron Hickman (class of ’03), and Kyle Flodder (class of ’02) all played college golf for the Horned Frogs and reunited to win the first TGA state championship of the year, and the first state title for each of the players. Flodder (76) and Hickman (81) battled in some very tough conditions to card 156 on Sunday which was good enough for a four stroke margin of victory.

The high winds made for very difficult conditions on the Apple Rock course at Horseshoe Bay Resort. Winds were a constant 15-20 mph with gusts up to 25 mph. Some of the best players in the state all shot scores in the 80’s. The scoring average was a full three shots higher on Sunday.

Sherrill Park Golf Course of Richardson finished in second place with a two day total of 301. John Schaefer (78), Mark Motes (78), and Steve Galko (79) were the only team that had all three players shoot in the 70’s on the final day. Steve Galko can thank his teammates for helping him pick up some valuable state player of the year points.

Lakewood Country Club in Dallas and the Medalist Golf Club (North Texas) finished tied for third at 304.

Other Notables
Lewis Stephenson (Medalist Golf Club) was the low individual for the championship with rounds of 70 & 77 for a total of 147.

Grady Bruce (Cimarron Hills C.C.) had the low round of the day on Sunday with a 73 that may have been as equally impressive has Rob Couture’s (Lakewood C.C.) 65 on Saturday.
ABOUT THE Texas State Club Team

UPDATE: In 2005, after an 8-year hiatus, the Texas Golf Association brought back the State Club Team Championship as a way for member clubs to get together and enjoy the spirit of camaraderie and competition.

However, the championship failed to attract much interest among member clubs and players over the ensuing years, despite continued enhancements to the event.

The TGA has surveyed many players to get their opinion and assessment for the low participation rate and have found that there are multiple areas of concerns: number of players per team, championship format, date, and host site.

After an internal review, the TGA has elected to suspend the State Club Team Championship in 2013, allowing time to discuss possible solutions and recommendations for its future.

Eligibility: Clubs / Courses that are members of the Texas Golf Association in good standing may enter (1) one team per facility. If by the priority date, the field is not full, clubs with more than one distinct 18 hole course, may enter (1) additional team per 18 hole course. Club / Course is responsible for selecting a three (3) player team to represent them. Each member of the team must be a male amateur golfer who is 25 years old by the first round of the championship. Have a handicap of 8.4 or less and be a permanent resident of Texas. Semi-private, resort, and public courses may only enter players that maintain a USGA Handicap at that facility. Please reference “TGA State Championship Eligibility” on www.txga.org for further eligibility details.

Format: 36 hole competition using USGA State Team Championship format. Each player will post an 18 hole score, and the team score for each round will be the two (2) lowest scores of the three players.

Field limit: 30 teams

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube