Jones Cup: Stanley wins on second playoff hole

SEA ISLAND, GA, (Feb. 8, 2009) -- Former Walker Cupper Kyle Stanley of Gig Harbor, Washington took home the 2009 Jones Cup Invitational Champion after topping Morgan Hoffman in a two-hole playoff.

Stanley, 2-time Southern Amateur Champion from Clemson University fired a final round 72 for a three round total of 1-over-par 217 while Hoffmann sputtered down the stretch.

Oklahoma State's Hoffmann was the 36-hole leader and had a five-shot lead at 3-under-par with three holes to play and stumbled down the difficult final stretch, playing them 4-over-par.

Stanley played the same stretch 1 under par to tie Hoffmann in regulation and force the playoff.

It was the fourth national amateur tournament title for Stanley since he enrolled at Clemson. He won the 2006 Sahalee Amateur in the state of Washington, and the 2006 and 2008 Southern Amateurs. His win at the Southern Amateur last summer will give him a spot in the PGA Tour's Arnold Palmer Invitational in March.

Stanley is the third Clemson golfer to win the Jones Cup. D.J. Trahan, now on the PGA Tour, captured the title in February of 2001, and Gregg Jones won the title in February of 2003.

Clemson teammate David May finished fifth in the strong national field.

Cody Gribble, 18 year old high school senior from Dallas Texas shot 73 in today’s final round and finished third at 2 over par 218. Jon Curran of Vanderbilt University shot a 2 under par 70 in the final round to finish 4th at 220 (+4). David May of Clemson University finished at 221 (+5) in 5th place.

Mike McCoy of West Des Moines, Iowa finished 6th at 222 (+6) and was the low Mid Amateur in the field.

Results For Jones Cup Invitational Golf Tournament
1*WAKyle StanleyGig Harbor, WA100070-75-72--217
2NJMorgan HoffmanWyckoff, NJ70072-72-73--217
3TXCody GribbleDallas, TX50074-71-73--218
4MAJon CurranHopkinton, MA50076-74-70--220
5NYDavid MayAuburn, NY50075-74-72--221

View full results for Jones Cup Invitational Golf Tournament


The Jones Cup was born from a deep commitment to amateur golf by the A.W. Jones family, who founded the Cloister and Sea Island Golf Club in 1928. The Sea Island Golf Club has played host to seven USGA championships. The Jones Cup is yet another extension of the family's strong involvement in amateur golf.

This 54-hole individual stroke-play event, inaugurated in 2001, is played at Ocean Forest Golf Club. The Rees Jones design opened in 1995 and has hosted the 1998 Georgia State Amateur Championship, the 1999 Southern Amateur Championship and the 2001 Walker Cup Match. The Jones Cup brings together many of the finest amateurs from the United States and abroad for this three-day competition.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube