Women's World Amateur Team: Sweden finishes it

ADELAIDE, Australia (Oct. 11, 2008) -- Sweden increased their record as the most successful nation in the championship's history with a stunning 12 stroke victory over closest rival Spain on Saturday afternoon in Adelaide, Australia.

In 23 Women's World Amateur Team Championships, Sweden has finished in the top ten in every competition.

The Swedes captured the Espirito Santo Trophy with a 19-under par (561) total, as Caroline Hedwall edged out team mate Anna Nordqvist for the individual honours by a single stroke.

The total was just three strokes shy of the lowest score in tournament history, which set by the U.S. in 1998 (558). The 12-stroke margin of victory was the most since the Americans won by 21 in 1998.

Hedwall's remarkable perfomance left her 10-under-par at the end of the championship. Her closest non-Swedish challenger, Spain's Azahara Munoz was seven strokes behind Hedwall.

Speaking after the victory, captain Walter Danewid wiped away tears as he expressed his pride in the girls.

"Winning this championship means so much that it's hard to put into words," Danewid said.

"We've had incredible support from everyone involved and the girls have come out and played fantastic golf and I'm very proud of them."

The United States squad, made up of Curtis Cuppers Amanda Blumenherst, Tiffany Joh and Alison Walshe finished in third, 14 strokes off the pace.

“The first day was like the wind out of our sails,” Blumenherst told Golfweek. “We definitely fought back and played hard the last three days.”

Results For Women's World Amateur Team Golf Championship (Espirito Santo Trophy)
1SwedenCaroline HedwallSweden150067-70-73-70=280
2SwedenAnna NordqvistSweden100070-68-74-69=281
3SpainAzahara MunozSpain70071-72-74-70=287
4CanadaMaude-Aimee LeblancCanada70073-75-71-69=288
5NetherlandsChristina BoeljonNetherlands70077-68-70-74=289

View full results for Women's World Amateur Team Golf Championship (Espirito Santo Trophy)

ABOUT THE Women's World Amateur Team

In 1958 the United States Golf Association asked The R&A to join them in sponsoring a world-wide amateur golf team event to be played biennially in non-Walker Cup years. Between 35 and 40 nations were represented at the first meeting and President Dwight D. Eisenhower presented the trophy which bears his name. The committee of the event was to be known as the World Amateur Golf Council and is now the International Golf Federation. Teams of four players from each country competed over 72 holes with the leading three scores from each round to count. The first competition was held between 29 nations at St Andrews, with Australia beating the United States in a play-off. In 2002 the format changed to teams of three with the two leading scores to count.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube