Sahalee Players' Championship - Bertoni of CA wins

Sammamish, Wash. – Cal Poly golfer Travis Bertoni of Paso Robles, Calif. struggled to a 4-over 76 in Friday’s wet and soggy conditions, but managed to maintain his two-stroke margin and claim the 12th Sahalee Players Championship. Bertoni’s four-round total of 4-under 284 topped Liam Kendregan, a St. Mary’s (Calif.) College golfer from Gresham, Ore., who also shot 76 Friday.

Bertoni was an honorable mention NCAA/PING All-America this past year and is also the two-time reigning Big West Conference Golfer of the Year. Kendregan was named to the All-West Coast Conference Team in 2005 and was runner-up at the 2004 Pacific Northwest Amateur Championship.

After matching scores on each of the first four holes, Kendregan took a one-shot lead on the 175-yard, par-3 fifth with a birdie when Bertoni made double bogey. Bertoni reclaimed the lead on the 510-yard, par-5 sixth hole, though, when he holed a 2-iron shot from 223 yards for double eagle. After matching scores on the seventh and eighth holes, Kendregan drew even at the 213-yard, par-3 ninth with a bogey when Bertoni made another double bogey.

A Bertoni birdie and Kendregan bogey on the 397-yard, par-4 tenth restored the original two-shot margin, which Bertoni increased to three with another birdie on the 169-yard, par-3 thirteenth. Bertoni bogeys on the fourteenth and seventeenth made things interesting as the players made their way home, but a Kendregan bogey on the 533-yard, par-5 eighteenth allowed Bertoni to make a routine par for the final margin. For the four rounds, Bertoni played Sahalee Country Club’s four par-5 holes in 11-under par.

2004 Dixie Amateur champion Jon McLean of Weston, Fla. shot a final round 1-over 73 to finish in third place at 1-over 289. NCAA Individual champion James Lepp of Abbotsford, British Columbia also shot a 1-over 73 in the final round to finish in fourth place at 3-over 291. Golfweek/Titleist top-ranked amateur Michael Sim of Connolly, Western Australia struggled to an 8-over 80 Friday and finished in sixth place at 7-over 295.

The 13th Sahalee Players Championship will be contested from July 5-7, 2006.

Complete final results follow.

12th SAHALEE PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP ~ FINAL RESULTS Travis Bertoni, Paso Robles, Calif. , 69-72-67-76--284 Liam Kendregan, Gresham, Ore. , 71-67-72-76--286 Jon McLean, Weston, Fla. , 74-70-72-73--289 James Lepp, Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada , 71-75-72-73--291 Jonathon Moore, Portland, Ore. , 77-72-72-72--293 Michael Sim, Connolly, Western Australia, Australia , 72-73-70-80--295 Daniel Im, La Habra, Calif. , 75-75-73-73--296 Andres Gonzales, Olympia, Wash. , 68-73-76-79--296 Graham DeLaet, Weyburn, Saskatchewan, Canada , 76-74-71-76--297 Erik Hanson, Kirkland, Wash. , 71-75-74-77--297 Chris Heintz, Brea, Calif. , 76-77-72-74--299 Erik Olson, Newcastle, Wash. , 73-71-74-81--299 Greggory Lavoie, Pasco, Wash. , 77-77-72-74--300 Erik Flores, Grass Valley, Calif. , 73-77-74-76--300 Dillon Dougherty, Woodland, Calif. , 80-68-75-77--300 Michael Jensen, Los Altos, Calif. , 76-79-77-69--301 Colin Wilcox, Camarillo, Calif. , 80-77-72-72--301 Kevin Chappell, Fresno, Calif. , 76-76-75-75--302 Won Joon Lee, Glenwood, New South Wales, Australia , 78-72-76-76--302 Brady Exber, Las Vegas, Nev. , 82-72-73-75--302 Zach Bixler, Richland, Wash. , 72-76-76-78--302 James Allenby, Langley, British Columbia, Canada , 74-76-77-76--303 Alex Prugh, Spokane, Wash. , 73-81-73-76--303 Joe Lanza, Bainbridge Island, Wash. , 72-73-79-79--303 Ryan Posey, Dallas, Texas , 80-77-67-79--303 Sam Korbe, Springdale, Ark. , 74-76-81-73--304 Ryan Carter, Hacienda Heights, Calif. , 74-73-81-76--304 Craig Leslie, Spokane, Wash. , 75-71-81-77--304 Scott Anderson, Great Falls, Mont. , 76-74-77-77--304 Tom Davis, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia , 72-72-78-82--304 Ryan Keeney, Redmond, Wash. , 77-74-76-78--305 Chris Wilson, Dublin, Ohio , 76-74-79-77--306 Ryan Thornberry, Ceres, Calif. , 76-75-82-75--308 Peter Campbell, Encinitas, Calif. , 76-77-80-77--310 Jesse Barnsley, Albuquerque, N.M. , 76-80-76-78--310 Chad Spencer, Rocklin, Calif. , 74-76-78-82--310 Ben Fox, Studio City, Calif. , 75-82-73-81--311 Shane Prante, Olympia, Wash. , 76-76-77-82--311 Vincent Johnson, Portland, Ore. , 77-75-83-77--312 Riki Kauika, Wellington, New Zealand , 78-79-71-84--312 Nick Obie, Havre, Mont. , 79-74-81-79--313 David Merkow, Hartland, Wis. , 78-76-82-77--313 Michael Wilson, Pacific Grove, Calif. , 81-84-77-76--318 David Fern, Spokane, Wash. , 82-80-81-76--319 Alex Coe, La Quinta, Calif. , 84-78-81-82--325 Jeff Remington, Edmonds, Wash. , 83-78-78-87—326 David Nelson, Reno, Nev. , 86-79-78-84--327 Charlie Holland, Dallas, Texas , 80-79-82-87--328

ABOUT THE SAHALEE PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP Inaugurated in 1992, the Sahalee Players Championship at its inception strove to annually showcase the best amateur golfers in the Pacific Northwest. As the stature of the club has grown as a result of hosting the 1998 PGA Championship and 2002 World Golf Championships-NEC Invitational, the SPC's founders decided to make the SPC a truly international amateur event. As such, invitations to the Sahalee Players Championship are extended only to the finest amateur players worldwide. Those asked to compete will face the same challenge as the professionals at the PGA Championship and WGC-NEC Invitational — 72 holes at stroke play over Sahalee's demanding South and North nines.

The Sahalee Players Championship serves as the first leg of amateur golf’s Western Swing, which will conclude with next week’s Pacific Northwest Amateur Championship at Oakbrook Golf & Country Club in Lakewood, Wash. The past two United States Amateur champions have collected a win at one of the Western Swing championships in the weeks leading up to his victory at the U.S. Amateur (Nick Flanagan, 2003 Pacific Northwest Amateur; Ryan Moore, 2004 Sahalee Players Championship).

PAST CHAMPIONS OF THE SAHALEE PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP 2004 ~ Ryan Moore, Puyallup, Wash. 2003 ~ Brien Davis, Las Vegas, Nev. 2002 ~ No championship 2001 ~ Jason Hartwick, Sacramento, Calif. 2000 ~ Ryan Lavoie, Pasco, Wash. 1999 ~ Michael Harris, Troy, Mich. 1998 ~ No championship 1997 ~ Arron Oberholser, San Mateo, Calif. 1996 ~ Jason Gore, Valencia, Calif. 1995 ~ David Lebeck, Portland, Ore. 1994 ~ Chris Stutts, Leoma, Tenn. 1993 ~ Casey Martin, Eugene, Ore. 1992 ~ Doug Duchateau, Portland, Ore.

ABOUT THE Sahalee Players Championship

Inaugurated in 1992, the Sahalee Players Championship (SPC) at its inception strove to annually showcase the best amateur golfers in the Pacific Northwest. Past champions include Kyle Stanley, Casey Martin, Peter Uihlein, Nick Taylor, Daniel Summerhays, Ryan Moore, Chris Williams, Arron Oberholser and Jason Gore. In addition to the annual Sahalee Players Championship, the Ted Robinson- designed course has also tested the world’s best when it hosted the 2010 U.S. Senior Open, which was won by Bernhard Langer; the 1998 PGA Championship, won by Vijay Singh and the 2002 World Golf Championships-NEC Invitational, won by Craig Parry. The course opened for play in the late 1960s. The name Sahalee -- "High Heavenly Ground" in the language of the native Chinook -- was chosen to reflect the Northwest's heritage and tradition.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube