U.S. Women's World Amateur Team named

FAR HILLS , N.J. (Aug. 11, 2008) – One day after being crowned the 2008 U.S. Women’s Amateur champion, Amanda Blumenherst of Scottsdale, Ariz., was selected by the United States Golf Association to represent the USA at the 2008 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship, to be played Oct. 8-11 at the Grange Golf Club’s East and West Courses in Adelaide, Australia.

Joining her on the American team will be Tiffany Joh of San Diego , Calif., and Alison Walshe of Westford, Mass. Sydnee Michaels of Temecula , Calif. , was named first alternate and Tiffany Lua of Rowland Heights , Calif. , was named second alternate.  

“It is such an amazing experience to represent your country, and I'm honored to be selected,” said Blumenherst, who will play for Team USA a second time after helping the Americans finish ninth in 2006. “And it is so much fun to be on an actual team, when golf is usually an individual sport. I feel we have such a solid team, that we will definitely bring home the trophy."  

Marcia Luigs of Carmel, Ind., USGA Women's Committee chairman in 2005 and 2006, will serve as the United States Women’s Team captain.  

The bi-annual competition has been played since 1964, with the winner taking home the Espirito Santo Trophy. South Africa is the defending champion, having won the 2006 title in its home country. The United States last won the championship in 1998, and has captured the trophy a record 13 times since 1966.  

A record 54 teams from around the world have entered the 2008 Women's World Amateur Team Championship. It is played in conjunction with the World Amateur Team Championship for men, which will be played Oct. 16-19 on Royal Adelaide Golf Club and the Grange’s West Course.  The World Amateur Team title is determined by four days of stroke play. A country may field a team of two or three players. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores by players from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day total is the team's score for the championship.

USA Team Member Bios

-Blumenherst, 21, won the 2008 U.S. Women’s Amateur at Eugene ( Ore. ) Country Club after being the championship’s runner-up a year ago. She tied for low-amateur honors at the 2006 U.S. Women's Open and also made the cut at the 2007 and 2008 Women's Opens. In addition to playing on the victorious 2006 and 2008 USA Curtis Cup teams, she represented the USA at the 2006 Women's World Amateur Team Championship. Among her numerous collegiate victories are the 2006, 2007 and 2008 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships while playing for Duke University. A three-time national collegiate player of the year and first-team All-America, she was the 2006 Edith Cummings Mason Golf Award honoree (which recognizes the female All-America golfer with the highest grade-point average), and the winner of the 2007 and 2008 Nancy Lopez Award (which recognizes the top amateur female golfer).

- Joh, 21, won the 2006 and 2008 Women's Amateur Public Links titles and was a member of the victorious 2008 USA Curtis Cup team. She won the 2007 Pac-10 individual title and was the runner-up at the 2008 NCAA Division I Championship and the 2007 NCAA West Regional. A first-team collegiate All-American in 2005-06 and 2007-08 and a second-team selection in 2006-07, she was named the Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year in 2007-08 and is a three-time conference first-team honoree. Joh, who is entering her senior year at UCLA, made the cut at the LPGA Tour's Safeway Classic in 2007 and won the 2007 Bucaramanga Open in Colombia.

-Walshe, 23, who recently graduated from the University of Arizona , was undefeated (4-0) in helping the USA win the 2008 Curtis Cup and made the cut at the 2008 U.S. Women’s Open. Walshe – who began her collegiate career at Boston College before transferring to Tulane – has earned first-team honors in three different conferences: the Big East in 2003-04, Conference USA in 2004-05 and the Pac- 10 in 2006-07 and 2007-08. She won the 2004 Big East Conference title and was that conference's player of the year for 2003-04. She matched that feat upon transferring to Tulane, winning the 2005 Conference USA Championship and earning the conference's player of the year honor. Among her victories are the 2006 Stanford Invitational, the 2007 BYU Dixie Classic, the 2007 North and South Women's Amateur Championship, the 2008 Harder Hall Invitational, and the 2008 Dr. Donnis Thompson Invitational.  

-Michaels , 20, is entering her junior year at UCLA and has played in the last three U.S. Women’s Opens, making the cut in 2008. She also made the cut at the 2006 LPGA Kraft Nabisco Championship and has played in three U.S. Women’s Amateurs and three U.S. Girls’ Juniors. Michaels earned 2008 NCAA second-team All-America honors after tying for eighth individually at the NCAA Division I Championship. She set a 54-hole school record en route to victory at the 2007 NCAA East Regional and has played on Junior Solheim and AJGA Canon Cup teams.  

-Lua, 17, also made the cut at the 2008 U.S. Women’s Open, was the stroke-play medalist at the 2007 U.S. Women’s Amateur Public Links and was a semifinalist at the 2008 championship. Lua, who will be a senior at Los Altos (Ca.) High School in the fall, has played in the Junior Solheim Cup and AJGA Canon Cup and has two AJGA runner-up finishes at the 2008 Thunderbird and Rolex Tournament of Champions. In 2004, at the age of 13, she was the California Women’s Amateur runner-up.

--Courtesy USGA

Results For Women's World Amateur Team Golf Championship (Espirito Santo Trophy)
1SwedenCaroline HedwallSweden150067-70-73-70=280
2SwedenAnna NordqvistSweden100070-68-74-69=281
3SpainAzahara MunozSpain70071-72-74-70=287
4CanadaMaude-Aimee LeblancCanada70073-75-71-69=288
5NetherlandsChristina BoeljonNetherlands70077-68-70-74=289

View full results for Women's World Amateur Team Golf Championship (Espirito Santo Trophy)

ABOUT THE Women's World Amateur Team

In 1958 the United States Golf Association asked The R&A to join them in sponsoring a world-wide amateur golf team event to be played biennially in non-Walker Cup years. Between 35 and 40 nations were represented at the first meeting and President Dwight D. Eisenhower presented the trophy which bears his name. The committee of the event was to be known as the World Amateur Golf Council and is now the International Golf Federation. Teams of four players from each country competed over 72 holes with the leading three scores from each round to count. The first competition was held between 29 nations at St Andrews, with Australia beating the United States in a play-off. In 2002 the format changed to teams of three with the two leading scores to count.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube