Northeast Amateur: Gielow sets scoring record

RUMFORD, R.I. (June 21, 2008) – Brendan Gielow, a Wake Forest star from Muskegon, Mich., shot a four-day total of 9-under par 267 to set a new record in winning the 47th Northeast Amateur Invitational at Wannamoisett C.C.

The previous record of 8-under was shared by PGA Tour stars John Cook (set in 1979) and Luke Donald (2000) and rising Tour star Kyle Reifers (2005). Gielow shot rounds of 68-66-67-66 to become the first player in tourney history to break par-69 in every round.

“I really wanted the record,” Gielow said. “I knew I had a chance on the 17th and 18th holes. This is the biggest tournament I’ve ever won.”

Gielow, who had his father, Eric, on his bag all week, made a 12-foot birdie putt on the 18th hole to clinch both the win and secure the scoring record. Other previous Northeast winners include Ben Crenshaw, Scott Hoch, Hal Sutton, Jay Sigel, Brett Quigley, David Duval and Anthony Kim.

Gielow entered the final round with a two-shot lead and quickly extended it to five shots with birdies on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd holes. Second-place finisher Nathan Smith matched Gielow with a fine 3-under round of 66 but he could never get closer than two shots the rest of the day.

Billy Horschel, an All-American from the University of Florida, shot a 65 in the final round to rally for third place.

Gielow just finished his sophomore year at Wake where he was named to the all-South Region team and an Academic All-District selection by ESPN The Magazine. He boasted the second-lowest stroke average on the Deacon squad behind All-American Webb Simpson. Gielow’s best college finish in 2008 came with a second-place finish at the NCAA Central Regional.

Results For Northeast Amateur Invitational Golf Tournament
1MIBrendan GielowMuskegon, MI150068-66-67-67--268
2PANathan SmithPittsburgh, PA100063-69-72-66--270
3FLBilly HorschelGrant, FL70070-70-68-65--273
T4OHJohn HahnHudson, OH70073-73-66-63--275
T4PAMike Van SickleWexford, PA70070-70-71-64--275

View full results for Northeast Amateur Invitational Golf Tournament

ABOUT THE Northeast Amateur

The Northeast Amateur has a historic list of winners, including Ben Crenshaw, Dustin Johnson, Luke Donald, Scott Hoch, John Cook, Hal Sutton, and David Duval. It has been annually held at the Donald Ross-designed Wannamoisett Country Club since 1962. The event is limited to 90 elite players; there is a cut after 54 holes and the entire tournament is played in twosomes.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube