Monroe Invitational: Mollica is first-ever repeat winner
15 Jun 2008
see also: Monroe Invitational 2018 Golf Tournament, Monroe Golf Club


PITTSFORD, N.Y. – Clemson University rising senior Phillip Mollica added another historic achievement to his resume in playing in the 68th annual Monroe Invitational Championship by becoming the first repeat winner of the event. In 2006, Mollica's championship run was the first wire-to-wire winner since the tournament went to a stroke-play event in 1998.

He adds to a long list of MIC champions with Clemson ties joining current PGA Tour player and 2002 winner D.J. Trahan and 2003 champion Brent Delahoussaye. Mollica is the fourth Tiger to win the crown in the past seven years. He fired a 6-under-par 274 total Saturday afternoon on the 6,787-yard par-70 Donald Ross designed Monroe Golf Club.

Results For Monroe Invitational 2018 Golf Tournament
1SCPhillip MollicaAnderson, SC100067-71-70-66--274
T2NYChris DeforestCottekill, NY70071-71-68-70--280
T2NJChris GoldHaddonfield, NJ70070-67-71-72--280
T4NJKevin FoleySomerville, NJ50073-69-72-68--282
T4NYDavid MayAuburn, NY50071-71-71-69--282

View full results for Monroe Invitational 2018 Golf Tournament

ABOUT THE Monroe Invitational

Small-field invitational event played on a great par 70 Donald Ross course. 72 hole stroke play championship dates back to 1937. No cut. Once the final field is determined by the MIC Selection Committee, official invitations will be issued. Invited players will be provided with a code to register using the AmateurGolf.com website. To apply for an invitation, visit the tournament website.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube