MAC Championship: Eastern Michigan wins by one

NASHPORT, Ohio (May 4, 2008)--Eastern Michigan claimed it’s second consecutive Mid-American Conference Men’s Golf Championship with a 72-hole total of 1171 (296-288-299-288) Sunday afternoon at Longaberger Golf Club in Nashport, Ohio. The Eagles won the event by one stroke, as Kent State finished as runner-up with a final tally of 1172 (302-284-293-293).

Toledo's Ciaran McAleavey claimed medalist honors with a 2-under par total of 286 (70-74-74-68). McAleavey was followed by Eastern Michigan’s Peter Sauerbrei (71-71-75-70=287) and Kent State‘s John Hahn (74-73-72-70=289). McAleavey’s victory marked the seventh time in the history of the event that a Toledo player has won the individual title (last was Brad Heaven in 2004).

Kent State led Eastern Michigan after the third round of the tournament and held a four-stroke lead, 879-883. The Eagles carded a team total of 288 on the final day of the tournament, while the Golden Flashes turned in a team score of 293 on the final 18 holes. Ball State (1194) placed third and Toledo finished fourth (1203), while Akron (1204), Miami (1206), Ohio (1207), Bowling Green (1210) and Northern Illinois (1216) rounded out the team scores.

Following the championship the teams enjoyed the postseason awards cookout at which the All-MAC and specialty awards were announced. EMU’s Bruce Cunningham was selected as MAC Coach of the Year, while Kent State’s Hahn was a unanimous selection for both the MAC Freshman of the Year award as well as Golfer of the Year award. Hahn was also named to the All-MAC first team.

Joining Hahn on the All-MAC first team was Toledo’s McAleavy, Akron’s Colin Clemente, Eastern Michigan’s Graham Hill and Kent State’s David Ludlow and David Markle. All-MAC second team honorees were Bowling Green’s Jace Walker, Eastern Michigan’s Christopher Ross, Kent State’s Brett Cairns and Miami’s Ben Wood and Nathan Sutherland.

ABOUT THE Mid-American Conference Golf Championship

72 hole men's collegiate championship of the Mid-American Conference.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube