The Walker Cup: Coming to Chicago Golf Club August 13-14
14 Jun 2005
see also: The Walker Cup, Royal Liverpool Golf Club


See end of article for ticket giveaway information

Chicago, IL - The Walker Cup Match, one of the most prestigious amateur match play competitions in the world, has been played at some of the best golf courses in the world. The famous fairways of Chicago Golf Club, which is one of the five founding clubs of the United States Golf Association, will once again host the Walker Cup in August, 2005.

The Walker Cup Match was last played at Chicago Golf Club in 1928 with Bobby Jones as Captain of the United States team. The United States team easily won the 1928 match and continued the early U.S. domination of the Walker Cup.

Recently, the tide has changed and the Walker Cup rests across the Atlantic. Great Britain and Ireland have won the last three matches in a row, including an exciting comeback on the final day of matches at the 39th Walker Cup, held at Ganton Golf Club in North Yorkshire, England in 2003.

The Walker Cup Match is conducted every two years and alternates between venues in the United States and Great Britain. The Walker Cup is played for by two teams, one from the United States and one from Great Britain and Ireland. Each team has no more than 10 amateur golfers who compete over two days. Each day features four foursome matches in the morning followed by eight singles matches in the afternoon. A point is awarded for every win and the team who wins 12.5 points will proudly hoist the Walker Cup.

Order your tickets now and come watch one of the best amateur golf competitions in the world. You may purchase daily or season ticket packages. Season ticket packages come with the opportunity to watch the formal practice round and attend the Opening Ceremony, held on Friday, August 12.

To order tickets, visit www.walkercup.org. And for more information about the history of the Walker Cup, visit www.walkercuphistory.com.

* Story courtesy USGA *

As if you needed another reason to become one of our premium members ... from now until June 30th, amateurgolf.com will review all 'player profiles' of our premium members to see who has filled out their 'What's in My Bag' information completely. (We currently have 750 premium members, and at least half of them have yet to fill out their club info)

From the players with complete profiles we will draw one first prize winner who will win tickets for two to the Walker Cup at Chicago Golf Club this August 13-14, 2005. (6) Second prize winners will receive the UST iRod shaft of their choice, for a driver or hybrid club (hey, it's the number one Hybrid shaft on Tour!) and (6) Third prize winners will receive a beautiful wind shirt from Fidra Golf.

NOTE: Registration is automatic for those with compete profiles. To update your profile or join now, click here>

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube