SCGA Tournament of Champs: Bartman takes 1st

DESERT FALLS, Calif. (Dec. 4, 2007)-- Brentwood Country Club’s David Bartman may have won seven club championships, as well as some bigger national individual and SCGA team tournaments, but he collected his first SCGA individual title today when he fired a 5-under 67 at Classic Club, to win the 33rd SCGA Tournament of Club Champions.

At the tournament’s two net sites, Bob Valko of Cal Oaks Men’s Club shot a 69 to take the President Flight at Desert Island GCC and Lev Katsman of Sony Pictures Golf League went 8-under-par for a 64 and Vice President honors at Desert Falls CC.

Bartman, 36, is half of the duo—along with Bear Creek’s Robert Funk, who came in third at 70—that has collected the 2006 and 2007 SCGA Foursomes and 2006 Four-Ball championships, as well as third place in last month’s 2007 Four-Ball championship. An individual win for him, says the former Nike Tour player, is gratifying.

“This is my first individual SCGA championship win in the four years since regaining my amateur status,” says Bartman, who won the 2005 Trans-Mississippi Mid-Amateur. “It feels really good, I drove the ball really well and the course was in great shape.”

Plate winners at Desert Island were (l-r) William John Goodman, Jr., Orange County Builders GA; Randall Winet, Doubletree Golf Resort, San Diego; Neil Anderson, Tahquitz Creek GC; Dave Schuler, Douglas Aircraft Memorial GC; and champion Bob Valko, Cal Oak’s Men’s Club.

Carlton Oak’s Gerry Simoni came in second place with a 69 on the 6,985-yard layout, while there was a seven-way tie for fourth at 71: Rancho Santa Fe GC’s Keith Arendsee, Sycamore Canyon GC’s Brady Baguio (who finished second in last year’s championship), Oakmont CC’s Tony Behrstock, Rio Hondo CC’s Raj Samara, PGA West’s Joe Sanders, Annandale CC’s Greg Sato, and Sierra La Verne CC’s Brady Wyatt.

In the President Flight, Valko overcame two bogeys and a double bogey on the 6,425-yard Desert Island layout to finish one stroke ahead of Dave Schuler of Douglas Aircraft Company Memorial GC, while after a three-player card-off for third at 71, Neil Adnerson of Tahquitz Creek GR came out ahead. Doubletree GR San Diego’s Randall Winet finished fourth and Orange County Builders Association GC’s William John Goodman, Jr. finished fifth.

At the 6,405-yard Desert Falls, Katsman finished one stroke ahead of James Lovette of Tees and Trees GC (who shot a net 65), while Alan Ambito of Golfinos shot a 68 for third. There was a two-way tie for fourth place with a net score of 70: Santa Fe GA’s Jack Smith won the card-off finishing in fourth place, and Valley Business and Professional GC’s Horst Butze finished in fifth place.

Full results follow:

  Name Score
1 David Bartman 67
2 Gerry Simoni 69
3 Robert Funk 70
T4 Keith Arendsee 71
T4 Brady Baguio 71
T4 Tony Behrstock 71
T4 Raj Samara 71
T4 Joe Sanders 71
T4 Greg Sato 71
T4 Brad Wyatt 71
T11 Scott Almquist 72
T11 Gary Havro 72
T11 John Pate 72
T11 Masao Sugimoto 72
T15 Bruce Cavarno 73
T15 Chris Etue 73
T15 Willie Wilson 73
T18 Bill Albers 74
T18 Dick Engel 74
T18 John Hanks 74
T18 Daniel Hoff 74
T18 Jaycy Igarashi 74
T18 Stephen Miles 74
T18 Donald O'Connor 74
T18 Christian Saxe 74
T18 Steve Wright 74
T27 John Adams 75
T27 Dirk Brolsma 75
T27 Robert Carver 75
T27 Reid Hutchinson 75
T27 John Jenkins 75
T27 Adam Openshaw 75
T27 Stephen Shuchter 75
T27 Peter Sterenberg 75
T27 Wes Taylor 75
T27 Roger Wells 75
T27 Mark Williams 75
T38 Tyson Briner 76
T38 Mark Harding 76
T38 Ted Lyford 76
T38 Blake Miraglia 76
T38 Ed Susolik 76
T38 Nolan Taira 76
T38 Brian Woolf 76
T38 Ray Yang 76
T46 Scott Anderson 77
T46 Casey Callahan 77
T46 Glen Clark 77
T46 Bob Claydon 77
T46 Charles De Chambeau 77
T46 Tom Dolan 77
T46 Tim Dudek 77
T46 Stephen Friend 77
T46 Randy Holte 77
T46 Ian Langdon 77
T46 Brian Leff 77
T46 Rik Newby 77
T46 Stephen Stapler 77
T46 Michael Tidik 77
T60 Gabriel Armendariz 78
T60 Craig Davis 78
T60 George Downing 78
T60 Steven R. Jones 78
T60 Charles Kavanaugh 78
T60 Steve Lindstrum 78
T60 Billy Mouw 78
T60 Luis Romero 78
T60 Richard Skaar 78
T69 Art Butler 79
T69 Dave Cox 79
T69 Greg Creamer 79
T69 Jason Fry 79
T69 Jim Garvey 79
T69 Pe'a Hill 79
T69 Zeric Hulvey 79
T69 Brad Miller 79
T69 David Neish 79
T69 Tom Norys 79
T69 John Pallini 79
T69 Bob Ridgway 79
T69 J.D. Stern 79
T69 Rich Tolly 79
T69 David Warner 79
T84 Peter Ayers 80
T84 Chris Bangerter 80
T84 Forrest Blake 80
T84 Jeff Crosier 80
T84 David Eberstein 80
T84 Jim Fuchs 80
T84 Mark Gallant 80
T84 Dan Hogan 80
T84 Michael Lyons 80
T84 Andrew Nelsen 80
T84 Michael Reed 80
T84 Mark Savage 80
T84 Jim Seymour 80
T97 Jack Dutton 81
T97 Bob Grassa 81
T97 Ben Hjelm 81
T97 Joey Kroagman 81
T97 Dominic Lingua 81
T97 Marvin Maruquin 81
T97 Mark Monreal 81
T97 Scott Parker 81
T97 E. Gordon Schiring 81
T97 Marcus Schonabaum 81
T97 Jeff Stewart 81
T97 Karl Stewart 81
T97 Rick Turner 81
T97 Ray Vanyo 81
T111 Scott Daniels 82
T111 Graham Everett 82
T111 Ricky Montanez 82
T111 Eric Murphy 82
T111 Todd Pieri 82
T111 John Ramirez 82
T117 Jon Buchman 83
T117 Bill Cushman 83
T117 Ray De Lapp 83
T120 Brooks Burnsed 84
T120 John Malone 84
T120 Jeff Port 84
T123 Rick Elliott 85
T123 William Gibson 85
T123 Brad Jordan 85
T123 John McGaugh 85
T123 William Reid 85
128 Rudy Salazar 87
129 John Chandler 88
130 Doug Miller 89

-- Story by Katie Denbo, SCGA

Results For Southern California Tournament of Club Champions
1CADavid BartmanLos Angeles, CA10067
2CAGerry SimoniCarlsbad, CA6569
3CARobert FunkCanyon Lake, CA3070
T4CAKeith ArendseeRancho Santa Fe, CA3071
T4CABrady BaguioBakersfield, CA3071

View full results for Southern California Tournament of Club Champions

ABOUT THE SCGA Tournament of Club Champions

Men’s club champions are invited to play in this 18- hole event. The club champion must have a Handicap Index of 2.4 or below as of the date of registration. They must be an amateur member in good standing with the SCGA and a member on the club’s active SCGA roster at the time they won the championship. This Division will compete without handicaps. Men’s club champions with a Handicap Index of 2.5 and above will play in the net divisions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube