Ed Holmes elected new CGA president
25 Oct 2007

PEBBLE BEACH, Calif. (Oct. 25, 207)-- Ed Holmes of Riverside has been elected 2008 president of the California Golf Association, the statewide organization that stages the California Amateur Championship and several other events.

Other officers elected were Mark House of Carmel Valley, first vice president; Bob Lowe of Ventura, second vice president; and Michael Hexner of San Francisco, secretary/treasurer. Directors elected were Dean Bartee of Saratoga Kent Keller of Los Angeles, Vaughn Kezirian of Fresno, Jim Moriarty of San Francisco, John Rydell of Santa Barbara and Steve Titus of San Marino.

Lowe was named chairman of the 97th California Amateur Championship, which will be played June 16-21, 2008 at Lakeside Golf Club in Toluca Lake and Oakmont Country Club in Glendale. Josh Anderson of Murrieta is the defending champion; he will seek to become the first player since Dr. Frank "Bud" Taylor in 1954-55 to win consecutive titles.

Bartee will be chairman of the 17th CGA Senior Amateur Championship, which will be played September 15-17, 2008 at Poppy Hills GC in Pebble Beach, a shift from its previous June dates. Gary Vanier is the defending champion.

The CGA also underwrites the CIF-CGA State High School championships for boys and girls and participates in running the biennial Seaver Cup matches, which will next be played in 2008.

Holmes, a member of Victoria Club, is currently serving as president of the Southern California Golf Association (he leaves that position at the SCGA annual meeting on Oct. 30). He is also president of the Pacific Coast Golf Association, which conducts the Pacific Coast Amateur each year. Holmes and his wife, Bonnie, to whom he's been married 35 years, live in Riverside and have two grown children.

The California Golf Association board of directors is comprised of five members from the Southern California Golf Association and five from the Northern California GA. Founded in 1912, the association has conducted the California Amateur Championship from that year forward. The California Amateur is one of the nation's oldest continuously contested amateur golf events with a storied list of winners that includes Jack Neville, George Von Elm, Charles Seaver, Roger Kelly, Johnny Dawson, Gene Littler, Ken Venturi, Johnny Miller, Mark O'Meara, Casey Boyns and Jason Gore.

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube